We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San

San
136 Moulsham St, Chelmsford CM2 0JT, England
01245 290099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 288 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A good evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

First visit and was very impressed. The selection of dishes on the all you can eat menu was good, staff were attentive but didn't make us feel we were being rushed. Very happy with the quality and taste of all the dishes we ordered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    45
    11
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It is always worth remembering that the San is busy and runs to a 'shift' pattern - and bearing that in mind, I have no hassle with the timetable you are fed to! On a Friday at short notice they found a table for four of us - the food is good and the service was fast and attentive. It's a lively place - not for a quiet evening out! - but we had a great time with our friends an what more could you want on a Friday night?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Another Lovely Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visited San on a Friday night with 19 friends, many of whom had not been here before. The whole resturant was busy. Our food was piping hot, the flavous were very good. Our waitress was vey helpful and patient. The menu has a good choice of dishes, try the sizzling dishes. Many of my friends will be going back. What more can I say, give it a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best Chinese around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I have visited SAN a number of times now and it is clear why it is always fully booked and busy, the food is delicious. Visiting recently on a midweek evening, it was still packed. Ordering off the menu, the food came out quickly and is full of flavour, with a much higher standard than the usual buffet selection elsewhere.

The only downside and where the costs are probably recovered is that the drinks are expensive. My favourite Chinese around and now becoming a regular haunt.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very avg chinese”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Do not try Thai fish cakes....struggled to find where the fish was..... Deep fried greasy rushed food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to San? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.