We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now called fur tons on the green” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grahams on the Green - CLOSED

Grahams on the Green
12-14 The Green | Writtle, Chelmsford CM1 3DU, England
01245 422 432
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $17 - $68
Cuisines: European, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
essex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Now called fur tons on the green”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015 via mobile

Excellent food and service ,reasonable priced,lovely and clean, has changed it name to Furtons on the green . Staff are lovely friendly and helpful,can not fault this place , was brough a voucher by friends for Christmas .

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    9
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only the name has changed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Had lunch on Sunday with 4 old school friends and found that the quality of food and service as of its usual high standard. The roast sirloin was cooked perfectly for my liking and the the
vegetables were excellent. It did not seem as busy as usual especially at this time of the year but I think people maybe put off by the name change. I suggest you visit this lovely restaurant and then make up your mind.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistently of a high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Have dined here under the original Grahams and more recently twice under theFultons name. The standard of food remains excellent and in some respects now is even better than before. Portions are more than adequate and the choice is just sufficient. Service is first rate and the Manager is always thereto meet and greet. Overall a professional and friendly atmosphere exudes and this is a restaurant I have no qualms about visiting time and again.

Go there, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Writtle, Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Now named Fulton's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Nice dinner with lovely bottle of Italian wine. We both had the fillet steak which i have to say lacked flavour. I should have selected ribeye. All Graham's staff have been kept on by Fulton's so service is still the same.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Now called Fulton's and is worth a visit on Tuesday evenings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We had not visited this restaurant for over a year and were extremely pleased with everything about it.

The venue had been freshened up with some new paint work, wooden flooring and some other nice touches.

The staff were very friendly and efficient - we couldn't ask for more.

On Tuesday night the price is fixed at £21.99 for a three course meal which offered a very good choice; something for everyone. There was a selection of around six starters and deserts with a larger choice of main courses - the steak carried a supplement charge of £4.00.

The food we selected was very tasty and well presented. My partner chose a steak which was huge and he said it was the best steak he had ever eaten. This is quite something as he has eaten his weight in steak many times over!

The wine was also very good quality.

On Tuesday nights there is always music and we absolutely loved the dinner music provided by Diane Moore who is a highly profession singer with a charming personality. It was the perfect music to enjoy during a meal. She sang a range of songs ranging from jaz to pop.

On the run-up to Christmas there will also be live music on Monday nights as well as Tuesdays.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grahams on the Green also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grahams on the Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.