We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Authentic Thai Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lanthong

Lanthong
6a Baddow Road, Chelmsford CM2 0DG, England
01245 494525
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 276 Restaurants in Chelmsford
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing, Authentic Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant as a Post-New Years Day treat after seeing all the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. The meal more than lived up to our expectations. We have always struggled to find authentic Thai food locally, but the food here was outstanding.

The menu had a mixture of the more well known Thai curries and less familiar dishes. There is a separate menu for vegetarians that offers a great choice. All the dishes that we ordered were excellently presented, with a flavour that matched. Everything was served in authentic Thai crockery with handmade garnishes. The food was very spicy, yet you were able to taste so many other different flavours. Make sure that you leave room for dessert. I had a mango and sticky rice dessert that was unlike anything that I have ever tasted before, but I would definately have it again.

The service was excellent. The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and explain the menu to you. We mentioned to the waiter that we were planning to go to Thailand and he provided us with a list of recommendations which we very much appreciated.

For a 3 course meal for 2, with rice, noodles, beers and water, it cost about £50. Excellent value for money. We'll definately be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Were going to Leks at Chelmsford market, but it was closed so we found this place instead. Doesn't look much from the outside, but we were pleasantly surprised. The food was fresh and tasty and very good value. We will definitely return again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Went here for lunch and it was good value as well as good food. I had the Rad Na and dumplings as a starter as part of the lunch deal. The food was tasty and the staff were friendly and polite. Overall, it was excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Been there several times and the food always is excellent, heir fish dishes particularly are hot and really spicy just like in Thailand

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great for food and a friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you like good Thai food, add this restaurant to your regular to go places. Upstairs in Baddow Road, this restaurant has been serving authentic Thai for years and they know their business. if you want to try something different ask the staff for a suggestion. The Massaman Curry is delicious, the beef salad yumm, the papaya salad awesome (Tip: don't order it if you are on a date and plan to stay over! garlic...) They even have a taste for wine - the house white is a great accompaniment at a good price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanthong also viewed

 
Chelmsford, Essex
 

Been to Lanthong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanthong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.