We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Simply Outstanding" place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chelmsford Serviced Apartments

Save Saved
You added Chelmsford Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Chelmsford Serviced  Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelmsford Serviced Apartments
43 Baddow Road, Chelmsford CM2 0DD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Chelmsford
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A "Simply Outstanding" place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My partner and I were looking for somewhere to stay, to celebrate our anniversary and I was looking for somewhere special. Chelmsford Serviced Apartments was my choice, I was certainly not disappointed, my partner and I were utterly blown away by the extremely comfortable and luxurious apartment we had.

The apartments are very easy to find and the location is fantastic, my partner and I walked to the centre of town, picked up groceries in the nearby supermarket and walked back in under 30 minutes!

Parking was excellent and secure, entry to the apartment and the apartment building itself was very easy, everything is pin coded, and once inside, the first thing we both said together was 'wow', everything was amazing from the decor, the layout and the furnishings. The open plan lounge and dining area was fantastic and very comfortable, the kitchen was simply outstanding, everything was clean and modern. The kitchen was fully equipped with tea. coffee, sugar, milk and all the essentials needed for making dinner.

The balcony was excellent, offering great views of Chelmsford and the river close by, the road noise from the nearby main road was absolutely minimal once the balcony doors were closed, this was true of the entire apartment, outside noise was minimal, it is very well sound proofed. The main bathroom was very luxurious and very well appointed with excellent toiletries, towels and bath robes.

The main bedroom where we stayed was absolutely fantastic, the bed, furniture and decor were simply first class. The second bedroom was also fantastic with superb furnishings and had an en-suite bathroom which was also luxurious and well appointed, we both loved the huge mirror in this room, it was amazing! The reception area where you walk in from the front door was nice and open and contained a welcome pack on how to access the Full sky package and wi-fi, this was fantastic as was the huge tv in the lounge.

From start to finish, the stay here at Chelmsford Apartments was "Simply Outstanding" the staff were very helpful and professional in taking my booking and exceeding my expectations, Jill was a perfect example of this, please pass on my thanks to her! When we woke up in the morning, we both didn't want to leave, it was that memorable. My self, family and friends will definitely be staying at this amazing place again!

Room Tip: If you want the best then choose apartment number 9, one of the penthouse apartments, it has the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Chelmsford Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
I am grateful to you on two counts. First for taking the trouble to post such a wide ranging review and second for all the kind things you had to say about the service aspect of the apartment as well as the accommodation itself. Your observations are greatly appreciated. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
4
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

A great location easy and secure parking, great joining instruction ( everything is pin entry). The apartment we had (3) was stocked with tea, coffee, milk breakfast cereals, bread and even ice cream in the freezer.
It's was very well appointed with a great kitchen, bed rooms were luxurious and the bathrooms were outstanding. It even had Sky+HD and wifi.
The only downside was Saturday night and Sunday morning, the apartments are right opposite a busy and quite noisy restaurant which is also a route into town, and Sunday morning didn't allow a lie in as the apartments are above the local free church offices so lots of loud and relentless music/song from 08.30 until 10.00.
Apart from this annoying hiccup the apartments are a fantastic find and I would recommend them highly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Chelmsford Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Your favourable review is very much appreciated. I am sorry. however, about the weekend activity which is, I'm afraid, outside my control being, to some extent, inherent in a central location.. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here in August to prepare for my big day. The apartment was spacious and well appointed. It was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It's centrally situated and surprisingly quiet. Security, joining instructions and parking are excellent.
There was a sight confusion about my dates of stay but the manager swiftly addressed this and apologised. Will definitely stay here again. What a delight!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Chelmsford Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review highlighting the advantages that the Serviced Apartments have to offer, not least the benefit of a central location with secure car parking and more space than is normally associated with hotel accommodation. You do not mention the nature of your 'big day' but I feel that congratulations may be in order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Visiting family in the Chelmsford area, we decided to stay at these self-catering apartments as an alternative to the local Premier Inn. We were not disappointed as the apartment was spacious and attractively furnished. The apartments are in a very busy area which initially was a concern. However, once you are inside, the road noise is very limited. The only slight concern that I had was that the lift does not go all the way to the top floor as stated on the website, there are actually two flights of stairs to the Penthouse apartment. Potentially this could be difficult if a guest had limited mobility and difficult if you have large quantities of luggage. Everything else contributed to very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the Penthouse Apartment if you have restricted mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Chelmsford Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
The limitation concerning the lift, mentioned in this constructive review, has been noted and an early opportunity will be taken to amend the web site accordingly. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in flat 9, the penthouse, for two nights to attend a family wedding. What a fantastic apartment it is. They really have thought of everything. It was spacious, luxurious, had all the mod cons you need and a balcony overlooking the river. You could live there.
It's within a minute's walk of the centre. What more could you want.
Chelmsford was lovely too. We'd never been before but it's great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Chelmsford Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I hope that the favourable impression gained from your first visit to the City of Chelmsford and the Serviced Apartments, which you were kind enough to mention in your review, may soon persuade you and your family to return. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was initially going to be over in UK working in Essex for about 2 months from January, then maybe a few days/week for a month or so. The works carried on for over 6 months and I stayed here for 99% of the time. The management are very flexible and where they hadn't an apartment they provided accommodation at the Channels Lodge facility outside Chelmsford.
I can't rate these apartments enough, they are very clean and spacious with all modern facilities including wi-fi and Sky TV and they are also quiet!
I had my wife and kids over for a weekend and they thoroughly enjoyed "Daddy's apartment" as they called it.
If you need accommodation in this area and you want a bit of space with flexibility then I would highly recommend these.
Thanks to Simon, Jill and Sarah and of course thanks to the ladies who done the day to day cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Chelmsford Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
The team were very pleased to read your generous review and to learn that you and your family had enjoyed your stay in our city. Chelmsford Serviced Apartments were designed to provide the short or long-term visitor with a degree of space and flexibility not normally associated with a conventional hotel and it is good to know that they fulfil that criteria. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in flat 3 (2 beds & bathrooms), 2 adults, 2 children & a baby, firstly the entry details all arrived as stated a week before travel, location was easy to find and getting in to the car park, lobby and flat really easy, didn't expect a lift but this was really handy with the pram. Quality of accommodation was first class all round, modern and spacious Would thoroughly recommend and would love to return on next visit. Flexibility v hotel was great. Location is also excellent as close enough for a short stroll to the great choice of shops, bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1245Chelmsford, General Manager at Chelmsford Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It was gratifying to see the words flexibility and location used in this very kind review as these are important advantages which Chelmsford Serviced Apartments have to offer. Simon Larner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelmsford Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelmsford Serviced Apartments

Address: 43 Baddow Road, Chelmsford CM2 0DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chelmsford Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelmsford Serviced Apartments Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelmsford Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;