We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really good place for lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Eagle

The Eagle
Ongar Road | Kelvedon Hatch, Brentwood, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 125 Restaurants in Brentwood
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A really good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We often visit this pub for lunch. It has a large formal restauarant but during the day you can also use the bar area for proper meals. Good choice of specials and fresh fish always available which you can have cooked to your needs .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“oh dear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

had booked for 12+ in restaurant. stood at bar unknowing that you should walk through - no signs. bunch of youngsters serving with not much clue as to how to service a party. (i.e. shown to seats, drinks order, meal order, etc). food was fine and not badly priced. i personally don't like large rooms to eat in: they have a large room to eat in. probably better as a couple of diners eating in the bar area. but on the other hand, my father in his 70s thinks it's fine and goes there frequently.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a lovely sunday lunch here today. The variety was very good, the service excellent and it was great value for money. Some of us had the sunday roast and some had burger and chips but it was all good. The chocolate pudding and custard - yum, yum! Will definately go back...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have visited The Eagle a few times and have always been delighted with the food and the pleasant staff. I attended a Sunday lunch with my family and once again we could not fault the food.

Some of us opted for the traditional Sunday Lunch, while others chose off the main menu. There is a good atmosphere, helpful staff, good range of dishes and all reasonably priced.

Will be heading back again in the very near future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Exallent pub atmosphere, lovely staff and the food was first class pub grub! Great choice of wine, and the welcome was warming.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eagle also viewed

 
 

Been to The Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eagle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.