We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marygreen Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marygreen Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Marygreen Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Mary Green Manor for one night. Room was spacious and clean. Very comfy bed and good quality linen. Decor at little tired, torn wallpaper, loose carpet trims but not enough to spoil our stay. Staff seemed very curtious and polite. My biggest complaint was that we booked a bed & breakfast package and when I enquired about having our breakfast in our room we were told we would have to pay for the full breakfast £17 each, not just a room service supplement, which I thought was very wrong, so beware if you want your breakfast via room service. I thought this was very wrong because we had already paid for our breakfast as part of the package we booked. I have never come across in other hotels, they normally just charge you a room service supplement which is fair.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    103
    38
    15
    20
See reviews for
92
116
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West midlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here with my partner on a Sat as a special treat for there birthday. Arrived just after 2pm to be warmly greeted by Laura on reception. I had booked a room in Brampton Lodge and also afternoon t to be served in our room plus evening meal and a champagne breakfast again to be served in our room.

We did have a few issues with our stay which have now been addressed and the general manager has very professionally dealt with.

The hotel itself is lovely and very tudorish. Although on a Sat afternoon the car park can get a bit crowded, but there is a overflow car park, ok unless it is raining.

Although our 1 night stay was not cheap, I would certainly consider staying here again. Highly recommend the Afternoon Cream teas but you need to book this well in advance

Room Tip: Marygreen Manor has lots of weddings so when booking a room if you are not attending a wedding ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a colleague and we were both really disappointed. It takes a lot to make me leave a negative review but the staff were so aggressive and rude. We had dinner in the restaurant and were chastised for trying to order from the bar menu - we didn't realise that's what it was and were told in no uncertain terms the chef found it unacceptable that we would do that as it would upset the other diners (2). When trying to order drinks the waiter walked off mid sentence and then pretty much ignored us. We were pretty much treated like a nuisance all night with no pleasantries whatsoever but a 10% tip automatically added on anyway. Believe me we are really not demanding or rude customers! We were typically English and tried to be extra nice to compensate but to no avail.
Breakfast was the same, aggressive waitress with no smiles who expected us to know what we wanted immediately and then stood there sighing while we dared to read the menu.
Bed was very comfortable, room was dated.

We weren't even asked if we'd had a good stay when we checked out. Expect better than this for the price on all counts

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I arrived late sunday night on the 3rd of March 2013 - greeted by a staffed reception and efficient check in.

There was plenty of parking and the room was very warm and welcoming - good sized room with fruit and water available as well as coffee and tea making.

The TV worked first time which is good and the whole room was clean and tidy

This is a good hotel

Only two issues - on checking out the reception was unmanned and after waiting for a while ( no bell) the phone rang and a staff member appeared - they answered the phone and dealt with this first before dealing with me. I dont like this as it indicates to me that in the eyes of the staff a random telephone call is more important than a staying guest.

Secondly the place just had an odd atmosphere in my opinion not in the rooms but in the main reception area.

I would stay here again though

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights last weekend and was well impressed. Accommodation was very good as was excellent food. Staff were very friendly nothing was too much trouble. Cosy little bar and lounge area to chill, drink and eat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had our wedding at Marygreen Manor last Thursday and we just can't say enough how fantastic the whole day was. The ceremony room (Samuel Pepys) and banquet room (Henry VIII) were immaculate and decked out exactly how we had asked. The decor, food, drink, staff and atmosphere were 2nd to none. A special thanks should go to Cyril who helped us plan the day and Michael who was fantastic on the day, not to mention all of the waiters, bar and kitchen staff who deserve a medal for their quality of service - nothing was too much trouble.

When the night was over we moved to our suite (Catherine of Aragon) which had its own lounge area as well as a four poster bed and was in keeping with the 16th century decor - spotlessly clean, comfortable and had all the facilities you could want from a hotel room PLUS a jacuzzi bath!! Our friends and family who had "normal" rooms were all pleased with the size, quality and comfort that Marygeen had to offer.

Breakfast in the morning was tasty and generous and when we asked for more toast and tea they were more than happy to oblige.

I know that this was for a wedding and that for a one nighter, this hotel is probably a little on the expensive side in normal circumstances but for the quality you got from every aspect, I believe the price is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a night stay here. Paid £120 per room and this did not include breakfast. This was a whopping £15 extra each! Having travelled alot I expected a fantastic room for this price and what I got was one that was very tired and dated. The rooms were clean but lacked any style. I know the hotel is 16th century but the rooms need serious modernising. The rooms were also unbearably hot so it was an uncomfortable sleep. There also wasnt a fridge in the room. I imagine the hotel would be nice for a couple enjoying a break who don't mind breaking the bank! If I was returning the area I would probably opt for the cheaper more modern holiday inn where breakfast is included.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marygreen Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marygreen Manor Hotel

Address: London Road, Brentwood CM14 4NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marygreen Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marygreen Manor Hotel is a fine example of early sixteenth-century architecture in Brentwood, Essex. Beautifully presented and centrally located, just minutes from M25/J28, with easy access to London & the Home Counties. Our Tudor Manor House offers a variety of accommodation from Luxurious 4 Poster Tudor Suites to our Delightful Courtyard Garden Rooms. Marygreen Manor is also home to the 2AA Rosette Tudors Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marygreen Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marygreen Manor Brentwood
Marygreen Manor Hotel Brentwood, Essex, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marygreen Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.