We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good location for poor sleepers!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Brentwood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Brentwood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Brentwood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brook St | M25, Jct 28, Brentwood CM14 5NF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not a good location for poor sleepers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Having just returned from a 2 night stay (which turned into 1 night stay). We should warn anyone who sleeps badly not to stay here. We had a room facing the A12 and the noise was constant throughout the night from the traffic. The room was also too hot so if you opened the window you got loud traffice noise. The air conditioning was set for spring temperature and could not get it to run on cool, as it was preset. Our shower thermostat was broken so had to use the bath. In the cafe we wanted a pot of tea for 4 in small cups with saucers. These were not available and was told there are 3 franchises running the cafe and it was policy to only use giant coffee mugs.Having made a fuss,they did find the small cups but no saucers,as we had for breakfast, so had to put used tea bags on paper serviettes! We waited 30 mins for the tea once my husband prompted them; the order had not been processed, but they did not charge us. We also used the swimming pool and no large towels were available so were supplied with two hand towels instead. Not very good for the size of the chain of Hotels. We checked out and went home. The Hotel was obviously designed for the business man and was very busy and not very relaxing. Will give this one a miss which is a shame as it is convenient to stay near my relations.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if that is possible due to location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear fabby222,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I deeply regret that you did not enjoy your most recent visit due to the condition of the room that you were given and noise levels experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We will certainly use your comments to improve on our efforts.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    95
    94
    51
    30
See reviews for
43
46
17
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

was in a great location for a weekend in Essex. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were a good size however we had 3 rooms and in 2 of the the windows would not close correctly so was freezing.

The Fridge in one of the rooms was broken and when we called reception we were advised there was nothing that could be done, it was a very nice room assistant that helped.

The pool was great and the assistant in there was great.

Would def stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,458 reviews 1,458 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 221 cities Reviews in 221 cities
4,098 helpful votes 4,098 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Staying in Brentford on business & being a Platinum member, the Holiday Inn seemed to be a good option.
Pretty average looking hotel, with very shabby rooms. Stained carpets, frayed upholstery & well in need of a refurb or demolishon!
Biggest wind up was no room upgrade (normal when Platinum) & £16 charge for wifi. Now bearing in mind you get free wifi in McDonald's, it is shocking when it's extra in a business hotel. Funnily enough, no mention of this charge on their website!!
Ended up locking horns with the very nice manager & after 10 minutes of complaining/ threatening to trash the place on TA, I got it free! Not great after a long day & a longer drive!
Not the managers fault but the place is sub standard. Apparently the wifi will be free in July, so my best advise would be to wait till July to book a room, or even better, avoid like the plague! £125 per night for this rubbish!! They hold be wearing a mask!!

Room Tip: Any room elsewhere would be my advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Chris H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions, and current WiFi policy prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, and continued loyalty as an IHG Rewards Club member.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brentwood hotels

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed here for an Easter break of four nights. My elderly mother is frail and in a wheelchair, so we stayed on the ground floor with a large bathroom which was ideal.

We managed to obtain a 'special deal' price (enquire with reception) which was fantastic value for money for a modern hotel. Well worth looking out for this.

Use of the gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam and jacuzzi is free for guests, and I used it everyday! Terrific!

Breakfasts were great, with a full range on the breakfast menu - and the pancake maker was simple to use and tasty (wish I had one at home!)

Dinner menu was slightly disappointing, and very pricey too in my opinion. Also charging for room service and WiFi was a bit steep I thought. There are plenty of eateries in Brentwood town centre however, so don't let this be a clincher.

Overall though, a very comfortable stay and very good, friendly customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location of this hotel is great for Essex, North East London and the surrounding area, and its 2 minutes off Junction 28. The car park is free, but just isn't big enough for the size of hotel and members of the health club so get there early if you want to park.

The reception, restaurant and bar areas are modern and of a smart decor. The service in the bar was particularly slow, with a well meaning but ultimately poor level of service that the price premium being charged just doesn't justify. The food was of a good standard, but again the price charged isn't reflected in the quantity, quality or the service received.

The quality of the decor doesn't extend to the rooms, which are tired, dated and in need of bringing into the 21st century. I honestly couldn't tell that I was in a Holiday Inn rather than a Premier Inn, and given the fact that it was £101 per night to stay this was poor. I expected more for my money, with maybe having some water or even some biscuits to go with my coffee as a nod towards offering a high level of room amenities than the budget brands would have made a difference. It was comfy enough, warm enough and quiet enough - but nothing special.

The final straw was the charge for WIFI. I get free WIFI when I buy a burger at McDonalds, a pint at Wetherspoons or a coffee at Starbucks. I'm paying over £100 to stay in a business orientated hotel and you want to charge me to use the WIFI. This is something that should be considered unacceptable in 2013 for a chain such as this.

Room Tip: A higher floor to avoid the noise from the room above. Be away from the swimming pool to avoid the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brentwood, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear T7PDC,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived in brentwood from our crazy journey catching trains buses and tubes so when me and my friend got there we just wanted to get in our room and chill out!! We was 50minutes early to check in but she didn't bat an eyelid and the check in took 2minutes and gave us our door cards which was great the room was a great size everything was clean and the bed was comfy we had stuff to make a drink but no tea bags!! After getting ready we went to the bar before we left to go to the not so classy sugarhut! The drinks are very pricey but good service, the check out was also quick too and was very nice! Although i may add i did use the internet - £5 for an hour!!! A bit pricey for internet when alot of hotel chains do free wi-fi but i will be going back to visit brentwood again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here in March for a training course, but have stayed here many times before, its a good Holiday Inn and I would definitely recommend it, with a special recommendation for Zoe who helped me out with some emergency printing I needed doing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Brentwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brentwood

Address: Brook St | M25, Jct 28, Brentwood CM14 5NF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brentwood 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Brentwood is located just off junction 28 of the M25 and only 1 mile away from Ford Motor Company in Warley, and 0.5 miles from British Telecom offices. Holiday Inn Brentwood is 15 minutes from Lakeside Shopping Centre, 25 minutes from Stansted Airport, 40 minutes from Central London and is the perfect choice for business and leisure travellers alike staying in and around Essex. At the Holiday Inn Brentwood all guest rooms have air conditioning and are non-smoking. Offering a choice of standard and executive bedrooms as well as Family and 2 Accessible Bedrooms. High Speed internet access is available in guest rooms, lounge and The Academy. We offer a la carte dining in our restaurant, 24 hour room service or bar snacks. Unwind after a hard days work in our fully equipped health club, including beauty and fitness facilities, indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Holiday Inn Brentwood is a popular venue for meetings and events and can accommodate a variety of functions in The Academy which can cater for 120 people theatre style, and offers breakout facilties. Events over the forthcoming months close to us:May - Southend Air ShowFree Car Parking available. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and conditions apply. Restaurant Closed on Sundays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Brentwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brentwood Hotel Brentwood
Brentwood Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Brentwood Essex, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Brentwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.