We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brentwood Brasserie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Brentwood Brasserie
Ongar Road, Brentwood CM15 9AZ, England
01277 204 989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 126 Restaurants in Brentwood
Price range: $48 - $192
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shenfield, Essex Uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to the new Ongar Road Fish Bar last week and were very impressed.
We used to go to the Brentwood Brasserie from time to time so we thought we would give the new restaurant a try.
As other people have said the menu is much smaller than before but its good no nonsense fish and chips, that being said you can have the fished grilled and served with salad.
We really enjoyed our meal and the service and price were very good, we had drinks before the meal, starters, fish and chips and then shared a desert and a bottle of wine a the bill was still just over 40 quid.
I will be going again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“If you want fish and chips!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Brentwood Brasserie has reopened as Ongar Road Fish Bar but the menu has shrunk to offer little more than the chippy next door. 3 starters on blackboard - fish soup, avocado with prawns or mussels. Mussels were nice and good value, avocado prawns were OK .
Mains were Fried fish - all the usuals plus chicken or scampi and chips or salad. None of the old seafood dishes now
Limited selection of beers and wines
Staff very pleasant - if you just want traditional fish and chips it will not disappoint.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Open Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just reopened as The Ongar Road Fish and Steak Bar.Refurbished with new tables and chairs in a simpler layout and with a much simpler menu - fish, steak scampi and chips or salad, a few starters and a couple of desserts. The main thing is that the food is still great, plentiful and delicious. If you want a lot of fancy dishes like the old days you will be disappointeId but I have just had the fried mixed fish, my wife had grilled skate ( both at a very reasonable price) and it's like they have never been away! They also now have a turn up and walk in policy - no pre bookings.
Will return there shortly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Nice setting and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Went Good Friday for good old fashioned fish and chips. It was very good. Tartre sauce was homemade and lovely...and the young waiter did a mean bloody Mary to cure my horrendous hangover

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We went there with my husband and parents for lunch. The service was excellent, really friendly and pleasant. The food was good and proibably the only criticism was that there was too much.

My parents have been regular visitors there for many years. Long may the restaurant continue!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brentwood Brasserie also viewed

 
Brentwood, Essex
 

Been to Brentwood Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brentwood Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.