We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
White Hart Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were staying in the Braintree because my partner had business in the area, and although we only stayed for one night, I can't fault the room. The hotel is centrally located for local shops, bars and the railway station.The open log fires are a distinct attraction. The bedroom was very warm and clean and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I wish we had had time to sample the food because it smelled delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to pass on your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the White Hart Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again, when hopefully you will get the chance to dine with us as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    62
    33
    16
    17
See reviews for
40
58
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last month and had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. The atmosphere was very relaxing, the food was good and the service friendly. Being centrally located in the centre of town we were very well placed to walk around the Saturday market and visit the local museum (which was well worth the visit).

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. I am glad that Steve and the team at The White Hart Hotel looked after you and you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our family booked a number of rooms for one night prior to a family funeral the next day. The hotel, a 16th Century building in the main part, had ensuite rooms. Our room, although a little in need of some TLC was exceptionally clean, comfortable and warm. There was a tray of tea and coffee etc. and a large wardrobe in which to hang clothes. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had more than adequate hot water in the shower, with clean white towels provided.

They also have a four poster room, although, sadly, this was already booked...

On arrival the Car Park and Reception were easy to find, although you had to walk past the smoking area to enter the hotel from the car park - not too pleasant, as a non-smoker. The member of staff on reception was very friendly and welcoming and happy to change our room to a lower floor. There are a number of stairs to access some of the rooms but wide and easy to climb.

The food was excellent and the bar area very comfortable, we spent the evening on the sofas and comfy chairs and there was draught Guinness.

The service was excellent. The staff were friendly, sensitive and went out of their way to help us. They came across as very caring and kept checking we were all alright. They laid up breakfast tables together as one large one for us, so we could all sit together as a family, which was very much appreciated.

The parking was good and the hotel is central, and within a few minutes walking distance to the town; also located not far from the station, which was easy for one of our sons, who was travelling up by train, to meet us at the hotel in the morning.

I would recommend this hotel and is certainly an option when we return to Braintree.

Room Tip: Our room was facing a road and was very quiet. There was secondary glazing in our room, so no compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments. These are much appreciated and we hope you return to Old English Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My fiance and I had my parents come to visit us for the day and we wanted to take them somewhere nice for dinner. I had heard good reviews of the meals served here from other people and thought we'd give it a try.
It has a lovely feeling to the place and we were seated and our orders taken nice and quickly. We all had starters which came up promptly and were delicious. I ordered duck spring rolls and they were so packed with meat, they were delicious. Two of us had steak for our main course and it was most probably the best steak i've ever had. It was so tender and just wonderful.
We had a lovely experience and had would definetly come back again. The staff are friendly, the food was amazing and the price was reasonable. Well Done :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback . We are very pleased that you and your parents enjoyed your meal with us and were happy with the service you received from the White Hart team . We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We've been staying here for many years because we come from the states to visit family at Christmas and it used to feel like a home. This trip felt very unwelcome. We were greeted by the mgr, Steve, who was friendly and accommodating but when we woke up on Christmas day it went downhill. They were very stressed getting ready for Christmas lunch so it felt like customer service went out the window. We got dirty looks for sitting in the bar area on the couch while my son opened presents. Then when we wanted to enjoy a pre lunch drink we were told sorry we can't serve you only paying lunch guests get served. Last time I checked I thought paying hotel guests were as important. Guess not. It feels like when you fly thousands of miles to stay in a strange place at Christmas your lodging should make you feel as comfortable as they can. Not the white hart. It's too bad. Think we'll be looking elsewhere in the future. On the bright side the house keeping ladies are so sweet and maybe the most welcoming in the whole place. Shame on you white hart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your disappointing experience at Christmas. We do try to ensure that all of our guests enjoy the festive period with us so we are sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation. We do hope that you choose to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our local hotel. It is a great place not only to spend the night but also to have a meal or a drink or just a coffee. A roaring log fire grrets guests in the winter as do the welcoming staff. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments online. I am glad that Steve and the team at The White Hart Hotel looked after you and you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I didn't enjoy my stay here on a number of levels. The room itself was draughty, cold and noisy, which coupled with it being in such a poor state of decor didn't help. Parking was limited and awkward. Having said that it was priced accordingly.

I was staying for two nights but had to cancel the second night. The first person I spoke to on the first day told me he couldn't change the booking, but the booking agent I used could fax the cancellation in the morning, "depending on their policy". In the morning the second manager told me it couldn't be cancelled because it needed to be before 2pm on the day of arrival. While I don't have an issue with the policy (although I'm used to it being 2pm on the day itself...) it was the sense that I may have been deliberately misinformed that left a sour taste.

Having just come the previous night from the Best Western Milford Hotel in Leeds, which was warm, welcoming and comfortable, the contrast was all the more stark...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to leave your comments. The hotel is due for an extensive refurbishment later in 2013 that should address the issues that you raise about the rooms and we are sorry that there was confusion over the cancellation of your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Braintree
White Hart Hotel Braintree, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.