We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good value and well located B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old House

The Old House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Old House to your Saves list
The Old House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Bradford Street, Braintree CM7 9AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Braintree B&B and Inns
London UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Clean, good value and well located B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here on Saturday night as our friends were getting married up the road at the Fennes.

The Owners are very friendly and check in and out was very efficient.

We stayed in the cottage room and it was more than adequate, if a little dated.

Breakfast was lovely, we had a full English and I the sausages and bacon from the local butcher were delicious.

For £60 B&B within a £10 cab ride of the Fennes - it ticked every box.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in february and enjoyed our stay overall. Rooms are very large and spacious with only slightly dated furniture and modern looking bathroom. Owners were polite and friendly and breakfast in the morning was delicious. The place is ideally located only a 5min walk into central Braintree, yet in what feels a quietism leafy road. My only real negative was the rooms were rather cold and didn't seem to change during our time there, other than that a good value b+b.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

(Sorry our stay was in May 2009 - Not November)

The owners Sue & Rob made my daughter and I feel very welcome. We spent over two weeks there in May 2009. We thoroughly enjoyed our time. We were given the stable room which was clean and tidy and pleasantly warm. The breakfasts were fantastic. Sue was very accommodating with our requirements for very early breakfasts.
Thank you Sue and Rob once again for a fantastic place to stay.
Janette & Joanna - from Queensland Australia

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old House

Address: 11 Bradford Street, Braintree CM7 9AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Old House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old House Braintree, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.