We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANNUAL MEAL FOR ROYALTY WEEKEND GROUP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ticehurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bull Inn
Save
You added The Bull Inn to your Saves list
Three Leg Cross, Ticehurst TN5 7HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Ticehurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ANNUAL MEAL FOR ROYALTY WEEKEND GROUP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Every year I book the Bull for a meal of about 30 people - inc several vegetarians, and someone who has to have a gluten free diet. The last two years, under excellent management, have been extremely good experiences. Many of the attendees are from abroad and love the ambiance of an old English pub. The service is friendly and efficient. The prices very reasonable. But the food - to die for, especially the choc sponge pudding. I highly recommend the Bull for it's ability to deal with large group meals (small ones as well of course) and have already booked it again for next year. It's a lovely place

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    18
    6
    4
    10
See reviews for
32
37
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bungay
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited The Bull on a freezing March weekend, with snow on the ground outside but the warmth of this pub, with its huge log fire, cosy bedrooms and very friendly staff soon made us forget our icy extremities. The food is great - a choice of just what you want, somehow - it arrives promptly and the service is fantastic. We had lunch with two five-year-olds who were given children's portions (everything on the menu can be a children's meal) and treated with great kindness and good humour by the waiter. This is the first time we had stayed in the pub; the rooms are small but very warm and cosy and remarkably quiet, given that it was a Saturday night and the car park full. The full English breakfast that we opted for the morning after had to be seen to be believed - extremely lavish and all beautifully cooked. The waiter was mega attentive and refilled our coffee cups time and again.

All round this was a fabulous experience - the very best of English hospitality in a beautiful, characterful old pub in a lovely area of the country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We love visiting this part of the world and one of the reasons are pubs like this one.
A small reminder of what is great about Britain. Hard working honest people running an excellent business in the heart of our beautiful countryside :)

Room Tip: Only one tip, make sure you visit this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I don't like The Bull Inn at Ticehurst.

I love it.

18 pubs close every day in the UK but if they were run like this one then that wouldn't be the case. Unfortunately for the likes of Wetherspoons and O'Neill's this isn't a marketing formula that you can replicate across the country. This is proper, honest, grafting innkeeping and you can tell that Arnie and Mandy love what they do because they do what they love. Be warned though, if you don't like your wit as dry as a glass of Sauvignon, don't get into a conversation with Arnie. If you do fancy a decent selection of beers in the evening, a proper pub dinner and a comfortable bed then The Bull is for you. And if you think you can face Death By Breakfast, then you're in for a treat. Great food, fantastic beer, terrific conversation, roaring log fires...the list goes on. Arnie (and Mandy)...I'll be back.

Room Tip: The room closest for staggering distance which is, frankly, all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a magnificent place to relax. A couple of friends and I turned up on a Sunday night and spent the next 2 days blissfully unaware of the real world. Open fires, Fabulous food. And a fine selection of beer and wine. The service is outstanding, Arnie and Mandy keep a very tight ship and are always on hand should you need anything. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well-appointed and the breakfast was quite incredible. Neither of my companions were capable of finishing theirs, so I felt compelled to do it justice. The perfect start to a wander round Bewl Water. This was my first trip to the Bull, but it will not be the last. There's something very honest and rather rewarding having a man called Arnie stand at the door to the pub as we left saying "You'll be back!" Yes. Yes we will. Very definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

what a terrific pub, went there on a Friday night whilst on a long weekend with my father who lived quite local. we had a table for 6, menu very good with a selection of specials on black board, service was excellent both at the bar and in the restaurant. The food was also excellent with large steaming hot portions and the main waiter had the best sense of humour!
will definitely return, well done the bull!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We agree with the majority of the views given recently. We went to the Bull for supper last night. Started with an excellent crisp bacon and melted brie salad followed by a freshly made steak and kidney pie - really top drawer! The flavour was superb with plenty of kidney. We have always liked the Bull but it has improved beyond recognition. If you are into wine, it is worth enquiring as to whether or not they have any wines which do not appear on the list!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: Three Leg Cross, Ticehurst TN5 7HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bull Inn was built between 1385 and 1425 and is reputed to be one of the oldest dwelling places in the country, but only became a pub towards the end of the 19th century. Set in 4 acres of rolling Sussex countryside, and within easy walking distance of beautiful Bewl Water, the Bull is very popular with walkers, cyclists and fishermen. A magnificent ancient building in a secluded location, the Inn has a wealth of old beams, low ceilings and quarry tiled floors that give it a real air of the traditional English Country pub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Ticehurst
The Bull Inn Ticehurst, East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.