We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grubby and grimy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Pevensey B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Grubby and grimy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very tired looking hotel which is really just a basic pub with rooms. My room had the stained bedding mentioned in one of the other reviews, ripped net curtains with some very questionable stains on them, no bedside lamp, one small towel holder in the bathroom and (strangely annoyingly) no soap dish in the shower (think about it: it's really annoying). Whole place feels like it needs a lick of paint and a deep, deep clean. If you read back on trip advisor (I hadn't before as someone else had booked for me), there are some consistent themes and maybe it would be worth taking some note...

It's my first one point score on trip advisor but I'm afraid it is deserved.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay was not a pleasurable one. We have taken your concerns on board and will act on them asap but had you voiced your concerns whilst staying here we would have tried our best to rectify them but as everyone on departure said their stay was nice we thought everyone was pleased .We have a vast amount of people through our door and the majority of them do go home having had a pleasurable stay .Sorry again yours was not Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    17
    11
    21
See reviews for
12
35
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Contrary to the poor reviews given of this hotel, apart from noticing that there were many spelling mistakes, I have stayed in all manner of hotels all over the world, both on business and for pleasure , I can safely say that for me and my two sons, the Bay Hotel has been very friendly indeed and most accommodating of our needs. Valerie and Steve couldn't have been more helpful and friendly - our rooms and linen were spotless. Regarding the 'dated' look - naturally work cannot commence during the summer months and is being undertaken at present - despite all the rather pathetic negative comments, it should be noted that the Bay Hotel is full to capacity for the forseeable future and I and my family will be very sorry to leave and will surely return when we are this way again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed there because it was such a cheap hotel for the night and thought that it would be okay.

But no.

The staff were impolite and aggressive when i wanted to make a complain about the bedding. I didnt expect to go to the hotel to find stains on the bed covers and sheets, Hairs in the bathroom and a dirty toilet.

I know the rooms were quite cheap but to be honest i would have rather slept outside!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Having read your comments we are sorry your stay was not to your liking but had you raised the issues whilst staying we would have addressed them immediately. We did not receive any complaints concerning your bedding if we had we would have acted on it. We always strive to give our customers a warm welcome and a comfortable stay and we have a vast array of people stay with us and almost everyone goes home having enjoyed their stay. We feel that the comment concerning the staff was derogatory. Sorry again your stay was not an enjoyable one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Smelly rooms, carpets not cleaned, old decor, ripped wall paper, swearing in the bar and breakfast area. It is a local pub with rooms above. I don't class this as a hotel. It is on the corner of a busy road. There was nowhere to hang our wet bath towels. We had an old antiquated TV which ran through a analogue convertor and we could not get it working. Best suited to tradesmen (electricians, plumbers etc) who frequented the pub. They probably like sky TV and don't mind cramped rooms. The Hosts were not too friendly either and quick to take our money up front. Totally unsuitable to anyone but tradesmen seeking a cheap stay. Avoid this place and sleep on the beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We run a friendly hotel here at The Bay and payment on arrival is the norm in any hotel, we did show you your room on arrival and you did agree to stay. We have vast amounts of guests from all walks of life that stay at our hotel and the vast majority of them go home having enjoyed their stay with us. If you were unhappy with your stay whilst with us we would have been happy to approach the problem there and then but we surmised as you stayed that everything was fine. Once again we are sorry your stay was not to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our room in the Bay Hotel was in need of a re-vamp, as was the whole of the building, hence my three star rating which I gave because we had a clean room with flat screen tv, teasmade, fresh towels including soap and shampoo's and ample hot water. So for the price we paid for a couple of nights, (15th & 16th July) to give us a little break was well worth it. We would go again in the future just for a couple of days away...

Room Tip: Ask for their best room, you may be lucky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we had read some of the reviews after booking and arrived with trepidation. its only a 10 min walk from Pevensey Bay train station but beware because only a handful of trains stop there. there is a more frequent service to Pevensey and Westham but that's a few miles away. we approached the hotel and the outside could definitely do with a freshen up. we checked in and were shown to our rooms. the door lock is operated by a code system which is shown on the room keyring. we opened the door to a clean fairly big room with wooden furniture and a tv, tea and coffee making facility and an en suite toilet and bath and shower which was clean. the room itself was clean but could be doing with a lick of paint to freshen it up a bit and the net window curtains could do with a wash. every electrical appliance worked as did the shower but the Wi-Fi was a bit tempremental. we had clean towels and soap and shampoo changed everyday and the breakfast consisted of cereal tea coffee and orange juice plus toast and a cooked breakfast which was prepared fresh to your liking. the bar area is quirky but large and had a pool table and the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly enough. there is a bus stop 30m from the hotel with 3 services an hour to Eastbourne which is a nice day out for shopping etc .
overall the hotel could do with a freshen up inside and out but the room was clean and the service we received was of a good standard. its certainly not the ritz but then you are not paying ritz prices. a relaxing stay and a base to rest your head then this place is just fine.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7.all rooms are on the roadside but traffic noise was hardly noticeable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Here at the Bay we always strive to make our guests stay an enjoyable one and are so pleased that with your stay we achieved this .Many thanks for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Right first impressions, looks shabby from the outside. The letter H forming the word Hotel above the entrance is not in place and the paintwork is peeling off to reveal the rotting soffits & facia boards. Hardly anywhere to park and no real garden to enjoy a beer in the sun!
Nether the less we walked in laughing and thought oh well you pay for what you get!
Let me just add that my partner nor I are in any way snobs and don't really mind what the place looks like just as long as it's clean and quiet ok.
After checking in and paying £120 for 2 nights stay, (which to me is not bad at all) we walked up 2 flights of stairs to our room.
Rooms were not too bad, very 70,s and wallpaper peeling off above shower and in various other places in the room, which to be honest didn't bother me, in fact made us giggle. Clean sheets and towels the next day which we didn't expect but make sure to bring some ear plugs!!
The noise from downstairs in the pub was deafening BOTH nights and struggled to hear the TV what with the band playing or the karaoke! No consideration for people trying to sleep up stairs!
Little Scottish bar lady was rude after we sat down for breakfast telling us not to sit at the table we was on as there was another family coming down even though there was PLENTY of other tables the family was able to sit at. It would of just meant she would of had to get another set of knives and forks out for us! Big hardship eh but hey ho. Service with a smile.
The kids ball pit stunk which you have to pass to get out stunk of damp and the carpet still had the crisps and serviettes on the stairs from the day we got there until the day we left. Not hoovered once.
Breakfast was very nice though. Plus side.
Hope that helped...........Good Luck..... lol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are sorry to hear your stay was not an enjoyable one we have many customers stay with us and the vast majority of them are happy and content with their stay . Concerning the noise etc we do state on our web site that occasionally at weekends we do have live entertainment etc .We do strive to give our customers good service and we apologise if you felt this was not the case but if customers voiced their problems when here we would be able to deal with them there and then. Once again we are sorry your stay was not an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Pevensey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pevensey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Pevensey, East Sussex, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.