We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertainment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Beach Tavern
Sea Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EH, England
+(44)01323460853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Pevensey
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

nice pub.they had entertainment of a band on.they were reasonably good covering a wide range of music for all tastes

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went there yesterday (17-02-13) whilst waiting for food all you could hear was microwave pining, must admit the pork i had was ok even if it was only 2 little slices but the rest was terrible, my food got cold because i was waiting to be served a drink seems 1 lady was doing everything definatly wont be going back and wont recommend

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Beach Tavern Pevensey has Changed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Please note the Beach Tavern Pevensey has changed hands and is no longer the high standard it was. We took friends there yesterday 25/11/2012 .
Menu choices limited to Lamb or Turkey wirh Cualifower Cheese as a Veggie option. the Lamb was digustingly tough and left on the plate together with the raw cabbage, The Cualifower Cheese just a poor packet Sauce mix poured over. with constant pinging of the microwave from the kichen
The starched white table cloths have been replaced with black rubberised sheets more in keeping with transport cafes

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at Beach Tavern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was an ok meal for the price we paid.. no more, no less. I would go again , as we can use a dining card which gives a good discount. Other than that , I dont think i would rush back...

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had looked at a menu online and thought it sounded good and very reasonable. When we arrived for lunch we were told there was a 2 course set meal for £6.95. What good value we thought but how wrong. My companion did well with her choice of main while I chose Cauliflower Grill. Yummy I thought lots of bubbling cheese, all crispy and enticing, after a few minutes under the grill. But oh no, it was processed packet junk food! I really don't know how they dare serve this nowadays and I suspect this really let them down as I am sure other dishes were far better. And whilst the pudding was tasty, putting a pastry dish in the microwave ruins the texture. This is one of my local eateries but I wonn't be going back :(

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Tavern also viewed

Pevensey, East Sussex
Pevensey, East Sussex
 
Pevensey, East Sussex
Pevensey, East Sussex
 

Been to The Beach Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.