We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn Newhaven - "not bad - not great"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newhaven

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Newhaven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newhaven
Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newhaven
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Premier Inn Newhaven - "not bad - not great"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Stayed for two nights in September.

Booking: The rooms I needed were not listed on the website - which gave the impression the hotel was close to capacity. When I rang just to check I was told there were hardley any bookings for that weekend!

Location: I know the area well so knew it is a good 30 minutes at least away from Brighton. Lovely area with nice villages etc.

Hotel: CLean. You know what you are getting with this chain.
I booked a family room - it is the smallest "family" room I have ever seen! If you have more than one child beware! Once a cot is in there you can hardly move.

Lots of noise from the hallway.
Lots of random bangs and machinery too.

Food: Its attached to a pub. Prices are cheap. WE had evening meal there - 3 of the 6 meals arrived wrong. Kids had beens which looked older than me!
There is an eat as much as you want breakfast. Buffet is good but you have to order hot food. It arrives in tiny portions - 1 rasher of bacon, 1 Sausage, 1 egg and some beans. You can order extra but then you have to wait for it, and it really seemed to upset the waitress that we asked for more - like we were being out of order.
Sausage was burnt.
Bacon was almost raw.

Brighton and surrounding areas have lots of nice eateries - I know where I will be going if there is a next time.

Staff: Staff during the night were very helpful and couldn't do enough for us.
Daytime staff - only exposure was checking it - I had to wait for a break in the staff's conversation before I was allowed to check in...

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Food, size of room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    110
    35
    7
    7
See reviews for
100
102
18
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Just stayed here and it appears the standards *have* lifted to that of the rest of the chain. Good breakfast, clean and spacious rooms - great value. Water pressure seemed low in our room and the bathroom was a little old in places but wasn't enough for me to complain and take up the offer of the "happiness garantee".

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

I stayed here for a couple of nights recently.
The room had everything that you needed and the breakfasts were great in the Brewers Fayre next door.
We had a rear room and there was quite noisy wildlife outside during the night so we had to have the windows closed which made the room quite hot.
However, we were provided with a fan which made up for it.
The ladies on reception were very friendly and made our stay comfortable and inexpensive.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Hot rooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West France
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Disappointing for this chain which normally provides high quality budget accommodation that leaves its rivals standingy. This particular Premier Travel Inn has seen better days and is in need of a total refurbishment. While the rooms were clean and tidy, the decor, furnishings and equipment are dated and beginning to show their age. Many items were not in top condition, including the elderly tv with its broken handset, the ageing kettle and mugs which I couldn't resist washing before I used them and the rattly bathroom fan. Maybe the car park full of tradesmens' vans and road working trucks should have given me a clue. Still, it's a handy and cheap one-night stopover for those with an early ferry and there's a Sainsbury's right next door for bedroom picnic goodies, which is a better option than the Brewers Fayre attached to the hotel. Personally, while nt desperately unhappy with the hotel, I'll give this one a miss in the future if I can.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

My first time in a newly branded, all purple, PTI.
Extremely impressed. Basic, but very comfortable and very clean.

Small reception cramped with two ladies, one was training, she processed me and was very polite.

The room was a fair size with a comfortable, large bed. Lots of pillows, which I like. All the ameneties (TV, kettle, open-plan wardrobe) were in a cleverly designed unit which saved a lot of space. The bathroom was fine too.

The most notable feature was a large fake leather headboard with downlighters. It really made the room feel up market. A great piece of interior design.

No restaurant, but there is a Harvester next door (which I didn't use)

I paid GBP54 for one night. Very good value for the South coast.

If you want basic but tasteful for fifty quid you're sorted.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Newhaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newhaven

Address: Avis Road, Newhaven BN9 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Premier Inn and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Newhaven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel Newhaven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newhaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.