We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newhaven Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Newhaven Lodge to your Saves list
Newhaven Lodge
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Brighton Road, Newhaven BN9 9NB , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Newhaven B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed there last week as a group of six cycling from London to Paris on a hot day, so badly in need of some TLC. Phil and his staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable with towels, toiletries, TV, tea & bickkies and even a welcoming chocolate. Good powerfull shower too. The full english breakfast is a must if you are cycling, served bang on time and good quality. Entertaining collection of clocks. Its a 2 minute cycle to the boat so very convenient. Definitely recommend it.

Seamus

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    17
    7
    19
See reviews for
23
33
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newhaven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here for 10 days while I was waiting for a flat to be available, Veery good breakfasts and warm and caring staff. The room was very, very clean and all the services were the tops. A lot of care was taken by everyone for their guests. Thank you. Peter

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I was very happy to find Newhaven Lodge during my cycling trip from London to Paris. The property is located right on the cycling route just minutes from the ferry from Newhaven to Dieppe. Since the ferry departures are at either 10am or at 11pm a rest stop in Newhaven is perfect. I checked in at 12pm after cycling from London and checked out after a long sleep to catch the overnight ferry to Dieppe (arrived on my bicycle in Paris mid-day the next day).

The B&B is run by a very nice and friendly man named Phil. One of the great parts of traveling is meeting interesting people like him. His property is very clean and charming.

A five star experience and I will certainly be recommending this property to all of my friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This an excellent place. We stayed there one night before crossing to Dieppe with our newborn baby Chloe and had a great time. Everyone was very helpful and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Thank you to make our stay so easy!
Chloe&Fabio&Ann

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there with my family and was good value for the money, clean nice place and friendly stuff! Thanks

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We arrived as a group of 4 cycling from London to Paris last weekend. The staff welcomed us and our bikes which they stored for us over night. The rooms were clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water just what we needed after a long day. Breakfast great and set us for the ferry and a days cycling in France. We would highly recommend the New Haven Lodge to any one wanting to explore the coast or travel to France.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife, myself and our little boy needed an overnight stay when I was travelling on business and we decided to try Newhaven Lodge.

Phil was extremely helpful and pleasant and kindly gave us the choice of rooms, which meant our little boy had his own space in a bunkbed and we got a bit of peace.

Slept very well and had a hearty breakfast.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Newhaven Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newhaven Lodge

Address: 12 Brighton Road, Newhaven BN9 9NB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Newhaven
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newhaven Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, family run B&B close to the Newhaven to Dieppe and Le Havre ferry terminal, and a few miles east of Brighton. All rooms come with tea, coffee, biscuits and color tv etc. Family room share options and on site parking is available if pre-booked. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Newhaven Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newhaven Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.