We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Piggery and quayside
Piggery and quayside
Piggery and quayside
The Piggery viewed from the stream
The Piggery
Quayside and seating
Hartfield
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beth C
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The photographs do not do this place justice! Beautiful setting, incredibly friendly hosts (Jenny) and left feeling very spoilt!

The newly decked area behind the piggery, over the brook is very pretty and the accommodation itself was great - loved the little touches from the dressing gowns to a fabulous breakfast selection in the fridge.

An absolute pleasure and we couldn't recommend it enough. We would have loved to spent an extra night but sadly needed to get back.

Beth

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Exceeded expectations
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ribena87
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A very pretty place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

The piggery was set in a beautiful area with a stream running down the side of the house. The place was well furnished and had everythig you would need with lovely extra touches such as tea lights and fresh flowers. There is also a wood fire which the owners supply wood logs. It was very warm and cosy. The bed was very comfortable. The owners are very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. Would love to visit again. A great place to stay expecially with a dog as lovely walks close by.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Northen_M...
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Perfectly cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A great location next to the ford and a short walk from a lovely pub. Jenny is charming host who stocked the fridge with a great range of fabulous food for breakfast. Our chocolate lab thoroughly enjoyed his stay at the Piggery as did we. Great for a romantic or relaxing few days away, just down the road from Pooh Bridge so you can play Pooh sticks!.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Log fire, location, cosy atmosphere, breakfast
Liked least: The quality of the bed sheets
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
princess0...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Our favourite B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We found Moss Cottage by chance browsing on the Internet, and within five minutes we'd booked a weekend there. As soon as we arrived, we knew we'd made a brilliant choice. The setting is idyllic, and the surroundings in the Ashdown Forest offer plenty of wonderful walks right in the heart of Winnie the Pooh country.
I booked by phone, and from the start found Jenny as easy to chat to as an old friend. She and Paul couldn't have made us more welcome. The Piggery is set apart from the main house, overlooking a stream. It has its own kitchen, and we opted to have our breakfast there. We found the fridge and cupboards stocked to overflowing, including veggie goodies for me.
The Piggery is very cosy, with a wood-burner that provides warmth and atmosphere in the evenings. There's satellite TV, wifi, and the shelves are stocked with DVDs and books, and maps of the local area.
For some people, the steep stairs up to the bedroom might be a drawback, especially if you get caught short during the night and need to use the bathroom downstairs.
If you like old cars, this is paradise. Paul was busy restoring an old mini in one of the out buildings, and in the garage was a beautiful 1935 Morris Eight. Paul and Jenny took us out for a ride in it - one of the highlights of our weekend. We ended up in the Hatch, the lovely local pub.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$151
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Jenny S
44 01342 823913
Speaks English
Listed since : Jul 2012
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing