We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely chance surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor Inn
Save
You added The Anchor Inn to your Saves list
Church Street, Hartfield TN7 4AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hartfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely chance surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I drove by on Friday, dropped in and was pleased to find a room free. Lovely, clean and crisp, no complaints at all, and a delicious breakfast the next morning, served in a lovely, homely, unpretentious way. The front room was absolutely fine, although there were some cheerful regulars, but no loud music at all. I would recommend this to anyone. Make sure you stroll up the lane to the church (3 mins), a little gem of a place.

Room Tip: Front room overlooking 'street' is absolutely fine: it is a little dead end lane, leading up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
16
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ignore the last review. I was there the same day and had dinner two nights running and lunch in between. All excellent meals, well prepared, well proportioned and presented in good time. Recommend the black pudding Scotch egg with mouth watering potato and apple salads. Steak night was super value and includes a 10 oz rump and a drink all for £13.95. Nothing is too much trouble for the experienced, lovely lovely staff. Will be sampling a few more items from the menu this week as here on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a family meal. Waited an eternity to be served at the bar, dedpite the fact it wasnt too busy. Waited an eternity to get the food once ordered. Couldn't eat the food as it was thoroughly unpleasant. The staff were very friendly though. Some peculiar choices in 'art' hanging on the dining area walls. Quite incongruous, and bafflingly random. That bit made us chuckle.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Could you please send us some more information about your visit - ie date and what time of the day? I'm very surprised to hear that it took a long time for you to be served (both in terms of service and for food service) when you say that it was quiet. All of our food is fresh so depending on what you ate, this can take up to 20-25 minutes. For the pub to be quiet and for you then to receive unpleasant food is almost unheard of as we have a very good reputation for food. I have asked our staff and we don't recall having any complaints around this time. Again, could you supply us some further information on what you and your family ate please so that we can look in to this? Once we have this information I'd like to invite you and your family back to try our food once again. Finally I'd just like to touch on your point about the artwork that you mentioned. The artwork was painted by an artist local to the area and prints can be purchased by calling him on the contact details that he has left underneath each of the paintings. Everyone has different tastes - I'm sorry that they weren't to you and your family's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had dinner here with the wife and two kids, 6 & 9. Reasonably priced, nice food and very friendly and polite staff. A decent selection of food options, large portions (even the kids meals were generous). The desert range is however very limited but still very nice. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming. I did like that the main bar was separated to the dining area so it gave us a peaceful family dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is now my local pub. Stopped here by chance about three years ago for a meal and now eat here almost every day having just purchased a retirement home on the hill above the village. They do a fantastic breakfast, but it leaves little room in the stomach for another meal in the day. Friday evening has a steak night, and that is fantastic value because in addition to all of the trimmings you get a free drink. The location in a picture post card village on the edge of Ashdown Forest is fantastic, and the pub has a typical old village atmosphere to match. The menu changes every few months, and over the time we have been eating there they have managed to contain their prices and yet maintain quality. About 3 times a year they do a themed evening, Thai and Spanish food being typical events. Great little country pub: a friendly pub in a beautiful and friendly village.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hadn't eaten here for a number of years and was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. Portions were of a more manageable size than before and we all cleared our plates. Our only criticism was the rather poor range of deserts. True we did find something to have, but felt the choice was limited. Service was friendly and all the staff went out of their way to ensure we were OK. The Friday steak evening was good value and the rib eye steak very tender and tasty. Suggest that you book on a Friday. Yes, the locals were noisy, but if you use a village pub that is something to be expected. We will most likely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex united kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was really impressed on our first stay at the anchor We arrived late for the function we were going to due to traffic The member of staff that booked us in and offered to order a taxi for us but there was a 30 minute wait and the price for 8 minute ride was £11 She then kindly offered to drive us herself which we thought was very kind and friendly. the room was really comfortable and clean The breakfast in the morning was good And staff very friendly I would recommend the Anchor to anyone who is thinking of staying in the Area and we would defiantly use it ourselves again

Room Tip: if the other rooms are the same as the one we had you will be alright
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Address: Church Street, Hartfield TN7 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hartfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hartfield
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Hartfield
The Anchor Inn Hartfield, East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.