We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hartfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor Inn
Church Street, Hartfield TN7 4AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hartfield B&B and Inns
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Thank you for a great short stay, a shame it was not longer, The staff were very friendly and the food was good. Beer was just right and gave me a good nights sleep :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    5
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
14
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A lovely traditional pub & B&B serving decilious food at reasonable prices. Beautiful, comfortable and spacious B&B too just above the pub. The breaksfast is second to none.

I fully recommend this pub for the atmosphere, food and friendly staff. It also has regular live music nights, weekly quizzes and themed food nights. The free wifi is very handy.

A good selection of beers and wines and even a chilli-vodka! (not for the faint-hearted!).

Thanks to the staff at The Anchor Inn for a great night and comfotable stay. We'll be back!

Stacey & Alice

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had lunch on New Year's eve, and it was excellent. A smiling welcome, efficient service and well flavoured home made soup with fresh hot bread.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you want great food and the warm ambiance of an English olde world 15th century Inn make a visit to this pub which is situated in one of the most romantic villages in England - Hartfield.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

I stayed a couple of days at the Anchor and had an excellent time. The room and bathroom were spotless and the bed was very comfortable with a thick duvet. Only the window could use a net curtain. It would give you just that little bit of extra privacy. The staff are very professional and the food is very good. The bowl of mussels was enormous. The Anchor has a big dining room and could easily serve a busload of people. The manager James was very friendly and helpful , telling me about the walking tracks in these beautiful surroundings. I will definitely come back someday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed at The Anchor whilst golfing nearby. All the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, the food was good and home cooked to order including the breakfasts - the portion of prawns was the biggest I've ever seen! The room was spacious and clean with plenty of toiletries and tea and coffee. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in at a hotel anywhere in the UK. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Anchor after a family 30th Birthday party in the Pub Garden. The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had two rooms and they set up an extra bed to make a triple and a double for us and our three kids. The rooms were very smart and had some very nice touches, with attention to detail. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Address: Church Street, Hartfield TN7 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hartfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hartfield
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Hartfield
The Anchor Inn Hartfield, East Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Anchor Inn to your Saves list