We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummmmm ?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of No. 48

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No. 48
48 Devonshire Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1AX, England
01424 736600
Website
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ummmmm ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Not very inspiring i am afraid. Food is below average i am afraid. We only had a small meal in here but the portion was small and delivery sadly lacking

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Just had the most wonderful wedding reception for som great friends of ours at no 48. The food was excellent I had the chicken chasseur and the pate.
Staff brilliant anything I asked for I got even late on in to the evening. Would recommend this to anyone of all ages

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great value at £6.50”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Ok the food is basic but the music is great and we have had some great times here. Saw Owen Donovan on a Sunday afternoon with a Chilli con Carne. I defy anybody to show me better value for £6.50 anywhere. Atmosphere is splendid and service good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nice place, pity about the food..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We went to see the Goo Goos who were delightful as usual.
We've been to no.48 before, nice place, nice drinks but the food is bland to mediocre.
We had a curry, rice with tasteless chunks of chicken ( I believe and hope) and afterwards I ordered an Expresso as the place is 'proud of its coffee'
I got a Cappuccino with residue of coffee beans in it.
I was not a happy bunny with the food AND the service was a bit abominable too.
Still the Goo Goos were good as were the drinks so it's a bit hard to review No.48.
Trip advisor is here to judge restaurants and NOT the entertainment so 1 star for the drink and one for the atmosphere. (Read the Goo Goos)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 48 also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to No. 48? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 48, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.