We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit and still excellent food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Station

West Station
15 Terminus Road, Bexhill-on-Sea, England
01424222350
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hastings, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Another visit and still excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We came here before with a group of 6 and returned with a group of 10 as had some family down from the north. This was for lunch and yet again was perfect service and atmosphere. The food was pipping hot and generous sizing, everyone enjoyed their mains and deserts, And the bill was very reasonably priced, will be visiting again soon for sure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Been eating here for over 7 years or so and it has changed hands since my first visit. Definitely for the better. Used to be a carvery style diner but now al a carte with good choice of meals. My 86 year old father always chooses the liver and onion option and loves it. Don't know where he puts it all as it's quite a plateful but he never leaves anything on his plate. Prices very reasonable and staff really pleasant and as has already been said, they obviously seem to enjoy what they do and do it with a smile. Nice decor too . There is an interesting antique shop next door as well and is well worth a browse round after you have eaten.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“West Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The service was excellent with lots of banter with the waiting staff who seemed to like being there. Very responsive and always smiling. The Food was ok and I think that you get what you pay for. Menu seemed a little dated but I think that it will probably fit the perceived customer profile. nice beers available but only a guest beer on tap (others bottled) The general look of the interior was a bit scruffy - tables & chairs a bit aged and casual for me. The reason for 3 stars probably will not visit again but not the end of the world if I went with friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food,excellent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This restaurant/pub is sited in what was the Bexhill West railway station building ,and the decor has a railway theme which personally I loved. There is a good selection of ales and wines at very reasonable prices. I visited with a family party of 6 , including one vegetarian , all had a different main course , and all were very happy with our choices. Food was freshly cooked , there was a good choice and service was very friendly.
The pub part I have to say was a little off putting - when we entered it felt like a scene from an old westerm movie! - all the patrons stopped talking and turned to look at the strangers entering their turf! , but dont let that put you off. The restaurant is highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a meal here for the first time last night. The staff were friendly and efficient and did everything they could to ensure we were happy with the meal. The food was all freshly cooked, good quality and presented well. My husband had the mixed grill which he said was the nicest he has ever had!! We had the liver and bacon, the grilled cod and the chicken sizzler, all were lovely. When I go again I will not make the mistake of having a starter, which could have been a main meal in itself, but I couldn't resist the whitebait. The portions are very generous. I will certainly be using this restaurant again soon. We were surprised when the bill came at the price. This is a hidden gem!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Station also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to West Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.