We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish n chips ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnie Bertha's Fish & Chip shop

Minnie Bertha's Fish & Chip shop
47 Marina, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1BQ, England
01424 731 263
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best fish n chips ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Well I'm not the usual fish n chip chick.....if u get my drift. But I defy any1 to eat there & find a fault with the food. The batter was light, the fish was cooked to perfection & not 1 bone in sight. Big moist chips & you can tell the oil is fresh. They even sell coca cola in bottles!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    8
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in Bexhill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

There's a lot of competition around, but this is the best chippie in the area in my opinion; service is always friendly, lunchtime specials are good value, and you're just a pebble's throw from the beach. Main drawback is that it's not a restaurant, but there are a few seats outside if the weather's okay

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good standard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

As often happens these days, it comes in a box. It tends to make the fish standard and the chips standard too. Both were a bit too greasy for our taste and the chips lacked the double cooked, high temp/short dip crispiness others seem to be able to achieve. Trying to add extra salt to soak up the oil didn't help and just raised concerns for heart conditions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent fish & chips..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were staying in St Leonard's and fancied an alternative to 'Hastings'.
This 'chippy' is easy to find and was very popular.
The food was well worth the wait in portion size and quality.
Thanks!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food and Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We visited here for the first time as we were visiting a relative in the area and we were very impressed with the quality of the food. The portions are massive and are served in lovely boxes. The staff were really polite and friendl. They really seeed to care that you were happy with yur order and they spent time descibing the size of the fish to us and checking that it was what we wanted.

We will definitely return there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnie Bertha's Fish & Chip shop also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Minnie Bertha's Fish & Chip shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnie Bertha's Fish & Chip shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.