We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tip - don't go there!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Ocean

Indian Ocean
17-21 Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4SJ, England
+44 1424 844977
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Indian Ocean offers an exceptional variety of dishes and the highest quality of fine Indian cuisine. Drawing on the flavours and colours of the subcontinent, the kitchen is made up of chefs who know how to create Indian masterpieces. They are passionate about great food and wish every diner the happiest experience of Indian cooking.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Top tip - don't go there!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We were shown to a table in an almost empty room, only one other table occupied and they found it necessary to show us to the table next to them. There was a general feeling of being rushed. The service was overall very unprofessional. Two waiters, one so called teaching the other. The "experienced" one had to be told how to spell an item we ordered from the menu before he could write it down! Our starters were mediochre, three out of the four were not really recognisable as being the item ordered. The starter plates were removed quickly just giving us time to take the last mouthful.

The mains two were good and two were tasteless and could have been a jar of sauce pour over the meat. My chicken dish did not have a hint of curry. If I had been blind I would not have known it was supposed to be curry.

We paid the bill allowing ten percent on top and the waiter having taken it away, came back loudly and accusingly that we had not paid enough when the opposite was true. It was very embarrassing as the tables had filled up a bit during the evening. Again, very unprofessional and he blamed his colleague saying "he is a beginner" - at least he didn't say "he's from Barcelona!!"

If it had been a good experience I would say the cost was reasonable but in the circumstances it was very expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    4
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bit hit or miss.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

For a sit down dinner, I found the restaurant lacking in a few areas. For example you could see that the poppadom garnish's were kept at low level besides the bar and were clearly not cleaned or replaced after the last customers had used them. Consider this is usually the first thing you eat when you arrive at an Indian it doesn't fill you with confidence for the rest of the meal. I won't judge the food based on the night we say in for dinner as I've since only used these as a delivery/take out service, and always been very pleased. Its very good tasty food and it's always been delivered write promptly too.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“spice night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

nice clean restaurant, onion bhajis are absolutely gorgeous, we had a rogan josh and a dhansak which were both fairly tasteless, staff were friendly and helpful, unfortunately we will not be back as there are better curries to be had elsewhere

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Top Tip - Go There!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed in Bexhill for two weeks of house and dog sitting duties. Being lovers of Indian food we turned our attention to our nearest takeaway. The Indian Ocean at Little Common delivered our order on time. The food was hot and well prepared. The flavours were fantastic and the price was good - so good in fact, that we went to the restaurant on our last night for a 'sit-down'. The service was brilliant, great welcome and close attention by the waiters. Admittedly it was early evening on a Friday, but we could find no fault. The restaurant was comfortable and quite large taking up two inter-connected shops. Everyone who entered received a warm welcome too. Parking was easy and of course free! The food speaks for itself. We will return again! Highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent service and supurb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

we go there often,twice a month allways friendly and the food is excellent good size portions.Best in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Ocean also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Indian Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.