We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Italiana

Trattoria Italiana
64 Devonshire Road, Bexhill-on-Sea, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A brilliant Italian restuarnt in Bexhill. Quite unexpected! Very busy and the most fantastic seafood pasta I had ever had. Brilliant and a must for those who love Italian cooking and happen to be in Bexhill on Sea
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Busy and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great service and a place to see a few celebrities.
A great menu choice and ambience.

Recommended as both lunch or evening meal choice with friends/family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    104
    36
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food traditional italian atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had an excellent meal when we visited with friends on a Friday evening. The food was excellent and I had prawn cocktail and fillet steak and the presentation was lovely and the steak was cooked to perfection.My husband had a king prawns followed by liver which was very tasty. Our friends had crab starter and one had a pork and spinach dish and the other had veal milanese served with pasta. The service was excellent and friendly. For dessert we had ice cream and cheese boards and these were of a high standard. We had a memorable night and would certainly return as their menu is so extensive you would never get bored with it. The restaurant is moving to a bigger premises this year so it will be worth a sample.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Bustling eaterie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is always busy, bustling and atmospheric in an Italian way - waiters willing to please, seemingly dancing between the closely spaced tables, swirling trays above their shoulders. Its easy to hear conversations all around and not the place for a quiet lunch or dinner.

So if you are in the mood to try traditional Italian dishes from an extensive menu and be greeted as a long lost friend by the staff, (the sincerity is almost convincing), you'll love this place.

Prices are reasonable, portions adequate and wine list nothing special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Reading some of the reviews of The Trattoria, I am of the opinion that some people are easily pleased.
In times of hardship when finance is tight, one looks for value for money. This place does not satisfy that criteria.
The standard policy, since's my last visit, two years ago, does not seemed to have changed. Get them in and out as quick as possible.
Having said that, two of us popped in early evening, when there were few other diners and had good service.
Our meal was nothing elaborate, just plain good tasting food. My partner choose Spaghetti Bolognaise, whilst I chose Veal with vegetables and potatoes. Apart from my potatoes, which very obviously had been cooked earlier in the day and reheated, the meal was hot and tasty. Portion wise, plenty of Bolognaise and Spaghetti but very meagre Veal. For the price I would have expected thicker cuts or greater quantity.
A couple of beers and a glass of wine to accomany the meal, went down well, until I saw the bill. A fraction under £6 for a small glass of wine, come on !!
As we were leaving, the restaurant was getting crowded, so it obviously is a popular place.
The management (Pierro) need to address their prices and food portions make it a place where one would definately return to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Visited on a Tuesday lunchtime. Glad we booked as the place was bursting at the seams.
The staff were great, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Pizza was very enjoyable. The spaghetti was extremely rich and not to everyones liking.
Prices are on the high side for the location but a full house and good service proves it works.
Worth a try and see what you think?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Italiana also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Battle, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.