We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kavi

Kavi
27 Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN40 1EE, England
+44 1424 220176
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, European, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had yet another excellent meal in Kavi Restaurant. Always excellent service, no disappointing meals. Price is very good as is value for money. Would highly recommend you to try them out.
Cheap 2 course lunches £5.95 and very reasonable evening meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“hot food on a cold plate!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

When I last visited I couldn't believe that they served my veal in cream sauce, saute potatoes and spinach on a plate that was stone cold! Food was okay, although a tad over-priced. To be fair to the current owners this was some time ago so plates may indeed now be hot. If then can guarantee that hot food will be served on hot plates, I'd return.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food at a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We visited with family who regularly eat here and have told us numerous times how good the food is. For the price the food is not just good it’s exceptional!

We went at lunchtime so I can only base my opinion on that but if you are in the area give it a try. They aren’t trying to be ultra trendy or anything, just good honest well cooked food served by smiling friendly staff.

Well done. Shame it’s 140 miles away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal at Kavi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was our second visit to Kavi and we were not disappointed. Great starter and main course with attentive and very plesant service. Wine was reasonable and although the restaurant was quiet we had a great time. This is a great addition to the eating out experience in Bexhill and we will be back soon. Many thanks to all staff, especially the delightful waitress.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

When we first got to the restaurant, it looked closed from the outside.. The lighting inside was very dim and it was only because we saw a couple at a table that we realised it was in fact open. There was absolutely no atmosphere in the restaurant and we had to ask for candles to be brought to the table just to give it some. My starter of deep fried Squid was amazing. Very well cooked and very tender. probably one of the best I have had outside of Spain. The rest of the meal? - not so good!


By contrast, my main course of Scampi was probably one of the worst I have had. Overcooked and served with oven chips. Having seen the other reviews, perhaps I was just unlucky on the day. However, would I go back? No.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kavi also viewed

Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex
 

Been to Kavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kavi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.