We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chequers Inn

Chequers Inn
Lower Lake, Battle TN33 0AT, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 35 Restaurants in Battle
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At Chequers we aim to provide a new way to dine, a relaxed vintage atmosphere, exciting rustic British food and a classic British bar. With our chefs locally sourcing ingredients from only farms that we have firsthand knowledge of, foraging for those special ingredients that are forgotten on menus today and preparing every dish to let the flavours of each ingredient excite the taste buds exactly how they should. This all mixed with our excellent wine list of classic and some very unusual great wines, and a classic British bar, we hope that once enjoyed you will just want to keep coming back.
1 review
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner eat here quite often, we came a few years ago while that old rubbish was here and we decided to come back once we heard there was new management. The food is perfect, everything was clearly home cooked and fresh. The prices were great seeing as if you go to McDonalds and get a burger it'll cost you around £6, but here you can have a homemade fresh and REAL burger for only £7, according to other reviews it's 'overpriced' HA! They probably wouldn't know fresh if they tried it. And yes I have seen the 3663 van deliver, but maybe that would be things like sauces and whatnot? Maybe you should get your facts straight first.
My opinion and everyone else's shouldn't matter, make your own mind up. Don't let anyone else make it up for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    5
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Have been here several times since it was taken over towards the end of last year. The food is not "home Cooked", well, it is if you think of it as coming from the 3663 van ( I saw them delivering) and being cooked on the premises. If the owners live on the premises, then technically, yes, "home cooked" would be the term.
The decor needs updating and the food certainly needs sorting out, at least before it was normally made from scratch and not taken out of the freezer and heated up. The vegetables are so overcooked, they might as well mash them in the kitchen and save the customers the trouble.
For those who will say, why go back if it's not good, I believe in giving people the benefit of the doubt and hoped that these were mere teething problems, seems I was wrong........

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Freqent visitor !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Not being " a local " but frequent this establishment whenever in the area im writing to stick up fot the management here i know they use fresh veg and sometimes try different ideas i was in the same day as foreignpixies and got talking to the chef the carrot was actually (fresh, as is all their veg ) mashed with swede and roasties and yorkies homemade, so foreignpixies if you want to eat frozen rubbish go to a carvery ! I know the management are trying so hard to get this beautifull pub back to its former glory and must be given a chance to settle in ! ! !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went for Sunday lunch. We ordered roast beef plus trimmings.. The thin slices of beef were quite ok, a bit dry. And I suppose it is rather tricky not to reduce frozen broccoli and cauliflower into mush that dissolved on your plate, but what with the pureed carrots? tasted a bit off. The Yorkshire pudding and roast potatoes were not even Aunt Bessie's!

But the pub itself was lovely and comfortable and the staff was friendly. Parking at the back, which is a bonus in Battle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Walkers lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As a group of walkers we have frequented this pub on a regular basis but our last visit was worrying. Usually the servide and food are good, but on this last visit, they had run out of lemonade! They had also run out of very basic things such as tomato ketchup and the food was not of the usual standard expected from this pub.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chequers Inn also viewed

 
Hastings, East Sussex
 

Been to Chequers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chequers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.