We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant & enjoyable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PowderMills Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added PowderMills Country House Hotel to your Saves list
PowderMills Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Battle
Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very pleasant & enjoyable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here recently for a one night "special deal." The location is superb and we had a warm and friendly welcome from the Reception staff. The bedroom was clean & well appointed. The dinner menu was quite extensive & served in a relaxed manner. We were fortunate in having beautiful weather which enabled us to walk around the lovely grounds which added to the overall
enjoyment of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    95
    46
    22
    12
See reviews for
50
225
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just returned from 4th visit, Food excellent,Location second to none, Friendly Staff, Rooms spacious with excellent views and very clean, Full of Character Exactly what a Country House Hotel should be.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking as numerous varients
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Although more expensive than a lot of Sunday lunches, the quality of the surroundings, service and food made this a place to remember. Well worth the money for that special occasion. The accomodation looked great too and if we are back in this area we will certainly look to stop here for a short break.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Having stayed here once before, we had no hesitation in booking again for an Easter period break. Spent three nights in a very comfortable room. Staff once again very friendly and accommodating and even made our yorkshire terrier welcome. Breakfast was good, but dinner was outstanding. No complaints, and we will no doubt visit again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Others rooms are probably fine, but we prefer to be in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a lovely room, the setting by a lake with extensive grounds and country walks was beautiful and it was about a mile from Battle which is a charming little town with the main attraction being Battle Abbey. The food was superb and we really enjoyed our stay. Considering we were on a very reasonable Travelzoo deal, we had not expected such a lovely room and we were very impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

First impressions of hotel is wow...very pretty. We stayed on a Travelzoo deal so had not expected the best room and we were in the back of the hotel. Lovely welcome from the receptionist. Our room was clean and a good size with a sofa and a proper bathroom with plenty of space. Our evening meal was fine. The only problem as such was that our room was over the back of the kitchen area and from about 5 am an entrance door was constantly banging shut where staff were coming and going. Added to this the double fire doors at the top of the internal first floor stairs kept banging (the closure on the door did not appear to be effective). So it was an early wake up for us both. I would return to this lovely hotel but make sure the room was not at the back of the hotel near the kitchen area. Staff were all very attentive and professional.

Room Tip: not at the back of the hotel near the kitchen area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Granted we got a great deal of B&B and evening meal through Travelzoo, but we were fairly hopping with delight with our stay. In essence, habituated as we are to City breaks, this stay on a country estate was magic. Main building is Regency, with a number of tasteful extensions and additions. Wisteria clad frontage, a small lake as you enter the drive, and wonder of wonders, up garden steps by the outdoor pool (unheated and obviously not in use at this time of year), we discovered a large lake, so large we couldn't see its full extent. Delightful gazebos and seating areas dotted around the extensive grounds - a peacock, ducks, an old English Goose (who appeared to be in love with the peacock), an outside area with wellington boots to borrow for a tramp around the lake, together with some Barbour jackets. In short, we felt as though we had somehow chanced upon an estate that was ours, and we'd somehow forgotten we'd inherited it..... A small library, a bar, delightful poolside areas. Only area we noticed verging on slightly neglected were the rattan chairs and cushions around the pool area, but given the pool's nowhere near open that was no problem at all (except it didn't match the standards of everywhere else). Loved our 3 course meal - good choice, well presented in an airy and light dining area replete with skylight and a massive garden urn with flowers. We noticed the relaxed atmosphere at breakfast which spoke to all the guests having relaxed and having had a thoroughly good time.

Our room was furnished Regency style with decent brown furniture clearly chosen to match the period setting of the main house. Everything in the bedroom, and in the bathroom, was to a high standard in style and cleanliness. Large bath, with shower over. Real bonus was the WiFi worked rapidly.

We will go back as many times as we can fit in and afford. Walked into Battle on the 1066 Path after breakfast looking at primroses and bluebells. Delightful.

Am perplexed to have read some negative reviews about this establishment. We encountered total attention and professionalism from all the staff. Someone commented they didn't like the chintzy, swagged curtains and that overall it felt outdated. Hmmmm. This is a Regency main house. How else do you present it except with a Regency accent? IKEA flatpack and curtains won't work.

Room Tip: We were in room 123 on first floor of main building. No view to speak of, but quiet and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PowderMills Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.