We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PowderMills Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added PowderMills Country House Hotel to your Saves list
PowderMills Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Battle
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Country Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I went there last August, just for a little lunch with a friend and it was fantastic. Great garden, great atmosphere and great food. they have this orangerie, which is just so relaxing, and the waiters are not in your face.Its in the countryside, about 2 minutes from the centre of battle and a real little gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    95
    46
    22
    12
See reviews for
50
225
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We were able to stay at The Powder Mills Hotel thanks to our first TravelZoo voucher which provided one night accommodation with an eight course taster dinner and breakfast.

When we booked we were invited to upgrade to an executive room overlooking the lake. Our room was fabulous with a wonderful view. On opening our patio door we were welcomed by the resident peacock, a muscovoy duck, a goose and some eager mallard. Our uneaten toast at breakfast provided a welcome snack for our new friends!

Our eight course taster dinner was just amazing and truly memorable. The quality was five star and the service was excellent.

We have no hesition in recommending this oasis of comfort and culinary delight.

Room Tip: A supplement for a lake view is money well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulione
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Second visit with travelzoo voucher, this time in spring so able to wander all over the [place around the lake past the waterfall - it is so beautiful. Room compact with really sink into beds, slept like logs. meal delightful, had hock starter, chicken stuffed with leek n bacon great and my Cod and salmon was so good, I don't do chocolate and I didn't want cheese so I had a selection of sorbets and Mt chocoholic had a delicious looking collection of chocky desert items. The champagne and the wine were very good. And breakfast full English set us up for the day(eventually one of the lovely waiters tended to us the main man got stuck with a large group and we got forgotten as others after us got served- only gripe)

Room Tip: If you have any problem ask the staff they are really helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here one night on a discount voucher. However, nothing was discounted from our experience. The setting of the hotel is beautiful, the service is friendly, a log fire burning near the entrance was most welcome and the food was top class. Note: the chocolate fondant is to die for!
We did not have a spacious room (#19), but adequate.
Niggles: too easy to knock the hair-dryer off its stand when using the washbasin; the shower curtain lies in the bottom of the bath, which could be a trip hazard.
Would we go back? - certainly!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed here on the night of 20 March, to celebrate a friend's significant event. We actually found a deal from Travel Zoo which gave us bed, breakfast and an evening meal with a glass of fizz, for £99 per couple. This was amazing value for money and we were really pleased we came.

The hotel is situated just outside the wonderful little town of Battle. It an old, rambling, former country house set in the most beautiful gardens. Although it is off quite a busy road, the distance from the road, up the drive, ensures a very quiet night's sleep. The approach is just like the picture on the website and is not a disappointment. Rooms link through to other wings of the house and there is also accommodation in other buildings in the grounds. It would be worth mentioning if your mobility is restricted on booking as they can ensure access if they know as this is an old building so floor levels vary, even at ground level. The rooms are well decorated and our bathroom appeared to have been recently refurbished. As the floor levels vary we had a ground floor window at the back, looking out onto a charming bank of primroses, despite going upstairs to our room. Our friend's hair dryer did not work. I suggested she told them.

The welcome on arrival was warm and the staff are very personable and friendly. The restaurant staff were also professional and efficient. The food was everything we needed it to be. The ham hock was a very nice starter. The breakfasts were copious and well cooked. The hotel was reasonable busy but not full.

All in all the atmosphere was relaxed and we really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: We liked room 15 which was very quiet. Possibly if it had been really busy there may have been more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night, following an internet deal, and had a wonderful time! The hotel has a charm that is easy to fall in love with - it's not modern or chic, it's elegant, and this is reflected in the furniture and décor. Staff were polite and friendly - we found them available, yet unobtrusive. The evening meal was truly amazing! Really one of the best meals we have ever had - it was presented beautifully, tasted exquisite and we were left feeling very full and satisfied. Breakfast the following morning was equally impressive. The restaurant staff should be very proud! We hope to return for a celebratory occasion or meal in the future.
The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom looked as if it had been recently refurbished and was quite luxurious - my only problem was that the bath taps were quite low to get to over the ledge of the bath, but this was only a minor issue.
We had a lovely walk in the woodland grounds and this added to the charm - we really felt like we were 'away from it all'.
With the deal we had, it really was excellent value for money and we look forward to returning soon.
Thank you very much all at Powdermills!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel has a nice location with pleasant gardens and ponds to the front and an enormous lake at the rear. Parking is reasonable although I could imagine a larger wedding party or conference might be a bit of a struggle.
The interior is comfortable and old fashioned as one might expect from a building of this age. Our room was of a good size with a large bed and a small settee. The bathroom had a good shower (no bath, which suited us) but the handbasin was recessed in a cramped alcove which made it awkward to use and there was no room to put anything.
Dinner was good: the restaurant manager was clearly on top of his game and the kitchen made a splendid job of our meals. The wine list was perfectly good and reasonably priced (our usual Viognier was £21 a bottle). Breakfast was also good, though not as good as the evening meal.
A couple of things jarred just a little: a demented spaniel would bark outside the front door every time someone arrived or left - this was soon put right by the helpful receptionist. A group of jovial chaps gathered outside the front door for a chinwag, immediately below our window, which was open. Nothing to be done about that but it did significanlty reduce the peaceful atmosphere. Lastly, the soundproofing between adjoining rooms is poor; we could hear the people next door who - as far as we could tell - were speaking at normal conversational levels.

We had a Travelzoo voucher good for DB&B for two people with a glass of sparkling wine for £99. At this price one cannot reasonably complain about much but at rack rates I would not have been so happy. On balance I'd say it's worth a visit - my wife certainly enjoyed her stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor at the rear of the hotel probably have a nicer outlook - I'd avoid room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PowderMills Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.