We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely old house, great setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PowderMills Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added PowderMills Country House Hotel to your Saves list
PowderMills Country House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Battle
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“lovely old house, great setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We use this hotel for business, if you want a base for exploring the area this hotels has great character, lovely grounds and good food - Wifi an issue. The apartment they have overlooking the lak is fantastic

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake or pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    95
    46
    22
    12
See reviews for
50
225
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for an unplanned lunch on a beautifully sunny day.We were absolutely delighted.What a fabulous place with warm and attentive 5 star service ( they were very busy and now had us two less than impeccably dressed guests to attend to ) and presentation of the most wonderful meal..yes...including wonderful veg. ...and good selection of very reasonably priced wines including organic. The public rooms were lovely, all the staff we met were welcoming and polite...all created a calm and open hearted atmosphere. Thankyou receptionists, waiters, and chef team. Ah, I have just this second read the reviews here......yes I agree that the dining room and bar do have a different atmosphere and in fact I had though it was sad to go into the orangerie at first ( a bit like going from cosy to cool! )but once sevice began we stopped noticing.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a fantastic evening in such an apt setting. This is the first time i have been to a murder mystery evening and wont be the last. From the moment i stepped into the library meeting the enchanting cast of the Murder mystery event i was taken in. The restaurant was staged for the 1918 episode of a murder that we had to resolve, I was on my own and the tables were set so i could join one, we all worked as a team or we could hand in our own conclusion to the murder at the end of the evening. The 4 course meal was delivered during the murder mystery event, and was of a very good standard, i should say excellent value at 45 euro a ticket. the hotel puts on 2 of these events a year and i have already booked myself in for the October date. I must say that the staff were exceptional considering i was a single person guest, they really gave me a warm welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights midweek in room 16. Fantastic facilities. Even had 2 showers & a comfy settee! Excellent choice @ bfast. Eddie, maitre d', makes u v welcome & nothing too much trouble. Short walk over fields to Battle abbey worth doing. Hotel provides instructions - + wellies if needed. Only downside was the service in the library on the first night. Having placed our order for food(only a main course as not over hungry) we waited at least 45 mins & the bread basket, which shd have been served with the drinks arrived same time as the meal. We decided not to risk further evening meals there after this.Excellent stay overall. Watch out 4 George, the resident peacock. V glam visitor every morning outside the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Although we live locally to the Powder Mill Hotel, my wife and I stayed here for a night whilst we were having some decorating work done at home.

The Powder Mills Hotel is a quiet country hotel set in its own grounds in the middle of nowhere, but just a few miles away from the historic town of Battle (1066 fame).

Although we had made a last minute booking, just 1 hours notice. We were given an executive room beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the garden. The room had a modern four poster bed.

The meal in the evening was perfectly prepared and very good value for money.

Breakfast was excellent.

We will certainly be staying there again and would recommend the Powder Mills to anyone wanting a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertsbridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Powdermills is an old country hotel set within beautiful setting and grounds. Very quiet and peaceful and brilliant for charging your batteries. Close to historic town of Battle just right for a stroll on a pleasant High Street with a few shops for afternoon tea. You can of course just stay at the Hotel and not leave the grounds as a nice afternoon tea is available, as well as all other meals that you might need. Rooms are lovely and each time I have stayed I have been lucky to have good views of the lakes or pond at the front of the building. Very friendly staff, including resident dogs and there are always wellies that can be borrowed for the obligatory wander around the grounds. I would recommend this for couples and groups of friends but I am not sure if it would be suitable for young children. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 36 above the Pavillion is a nice room with a sunken bath, four poster, lovely view of the pond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Once again lovely, and how delightful to find the resident Peacock in attendance. Rooms are quiet for the most part, bar occasional excited dogs, which enhance this lovely tranquil country estate location

Room Tip: Excellent ground floor rooms for those with young children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PowderMills Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PowderMills Country House Hotel

Address: Powdermill Lane, Battle TN33 0SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Battle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Battle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — PowderMills Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your PowderMills Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powdermills Country Hotel
Powdermills Country Battle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PowderMills Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.