We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Anchor to your Saves list
The Anchor
Main Street, Walberswick IP18 6UA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Walberswick B&B and Inns
Shenfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Anchor is a delightful old Inn in the pretty village of Walberswick. A warm welcome and our bedroom was comfortable. We dined in the restaurant - the menu was varied and whilst the dinner was tasty, we felt the presentation lacked a little, including breakfast the next morning. Perhaps the plumbing should be looked at - the shower whilst hot, made a very concerning noise. Having said the above, we would stay again at the Anchor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    34
    30
    19
    16
See reviews for
34
79
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Despite not looking very impressive from the outside, The Anchor is simply superb. Nothing is too much trouble for the fantastic helpful staff and the food and accommodation is of a very high standard.

Excellent value for money. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a family and want a sea view, ask for Room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here last summer and it was even better this time! Saw far more of the owners Sophie and Mark than we did in July which added to the experience! Fantastic food (try to be there for Curry Night!), great selection of beers and wines, lovely atmosphere created by perfect mix of locals and visitors and great team of staff who really seem to care about the place. Flabbergasted by previous review from The Cyclist- don't recognise the place he describes at all! If you want laid back comfort, good food and drink, interesting company and a fairly unique location (and you're realistic about what that will cost you) then do book a stay at the Anchor! We certainly will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the garden chalets - very spacious with sofa as well as a huge bed. Lovely tiled flooring, underfloor heating in bathroom and very generous sized shower. Bar area very dog friendly; our mini schnauzer had a great time. Restaurant food was just gorgeous. The owner bakes her own bread too. We had a lovely lovely time here and can't wait to go back. A truly relaxing break in an very tranquil village - just go there and feel the stress of the working week disappear!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire lass
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is the second time that we have stayed at The Anchor, again in one of the spacious garden rooms which are light and airy with a small terrace outside each room with table and chairs to catch the sun. I don't recognise the spiders etc - our room was spotlessly clean. The staff are charming, friendly whilst being professional and efficient and couldn't have been more helpful and obviously take their lead from Sophie, the owner, who is charming. For a non beer drinker the wine list (bottle and by the glass) is a real bonus and the menu is small but full of seasonal delights. It doesn't get much better than sitting in the bar at lunch time after a walk to Southwold and back, hugging a pint of Adnams Ghost and a glass of lovely sauvignon blanc beween us! It is expensive in relative terms but I'd rather spend a couple of days at The Anchor than a week elsewhere. Roll on our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the anchor with my partner for our anniversary we found the staff to be friendly and very helpful . And as for previous review from cycle this is a bed and breakfast not a hotel although for the standard of the rooms it could be. The food was great and as I have allergies nothing was too much trouble for the chef. My only complaint was the weather but they could do nothing about that. We will be going back again next year and might even squeeze a summer break. So thank you Anchor and staff for looking after us so well it was appreciated very much

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canvey island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here recently on a suffolk cycle tour. We stayed at 5 hotels in Suffolk and Norfolk, the Anchor was the most expensive, but by far the worst. As a pub it is fine, the restaurant food was fine too. My comments relate to the rooms over the pub, and the place as a "hotel". On our arrival, after a 5 hour cycle there was no hot water and no heating in our rooms ( this was because they had a function in the pub and the hot water system was exhausted, although the system was modern it did not support the requirement of that day). Not a great start. My friends room was tiny, small for 1 person, way too small for a couple. Had we had motor transport we would have left then. The room we had was larger but the layout very poor. The TV did not work properly, it was sited in front of the only mirror (difficult for my partner to do hair and makeup,(but we had no hot water anyway !!!), the chair blocked the wardrobe (little room to access wardrobe or move chair), my double room was 2 single beds pushed together. After not being able to bathe the manager did give us a evening meal FOC to make ammends. We were grateful, but so many other things fell short. The internet did not work for us untill the morning we left, no-one really seemed to want to check this out. The first morning breakfast was OK, the bread toasted only one side was replaced, but sitting in the dining room there was a door that did not fit the frame (drafty), cobwebs hanging from the fire sensor, black marks on the ceiling over light fittings. The second morning (Sunday) the lady setting up breakfast announced that "i only came in to clean the windows". We got one fully toasted piece of bread, and one just warm (not toasted). I requested porridge and egg on toast, the waitress came back to check as to if I wanted "both breakfasts still" ??? I could go on but it seems pointless as I have read other reports and the same issues repeat. Had this stay been presented as a B&B at half the price I would have said it was OK but needed a spring clean and a re-think on the room layout. As the dearest place we stayed that week it was just not acceptable in so many ways. On the morning we left, already in full cycle gear, we got presented was a bill for the FOC meal, this was then reduced to drinks only, but I had specifically requested any bill from that evening be presented and cleared on the night. It does not work as a hotel in any way, but is a nice place for a beer, an OK place for a meal (please clean the restaurant ceiling and fix the door, and clean the kitchen door window). To leave on a positive note the prople there tried to be positive but the are too many failings to "cover up" with a smile and a quip !!!

Room Tip: Rooms over the hotel facing front are noisy when any car pulls into the car park, wheels on gravel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor

Address: Main Street, Walberswick IP18 6UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A village pub with a difference. Our addiction to fresh, top quality, locally sourced where possible produce, combined with a thirst for excellence have evolved into what has been described as a "must go to place on the Suffolk coast." Our approach to food is robust; we want to put on each plate satisfying combinations of flavours and textures. We have a good range of characterful draught beers, and numerous world class bottled beers, organic soft drinks and over 150 drop dead lovely wines from some of the earth’s most inspired winemakers. We offer the same menu throughout, with more formal Restaurant dining on a bookings basis and more relaxed walk-ins, in the Bar. We also have seating for 150 outside on three terraces, with table service available for those warmer days. Our renovated flint barn is a highly versatile space, equipped with a drop-down screen and a projector, ideal for business meetings, strategy reviews, team building exercises, corporate training, presentations, film showings or private parties to mention just a few of its uses. It has been put to good use in the cause of village based charity fund raising projects as well as providing the theatre for Food Safari events, cask beer festivals and the Aldebrough Doc. Fest. fringe event weekend November 2011. Free time relaxation can include everything from Golf at several well established Courses, to Horse Riding at Bramfield Equestrian Centre, Sky Diving for all levels at Beccels, Aromatherapy in walking distance or sea fishing of Walberswick Coast with Mark Felton. Beer Academy and WSCT (Wine and Spirits) educational courses are available by arrangement. Our Hotel Accommodation: We have just undergone a thorough renovation of our Now Cedar Clad Chalets, enhancing the environment in which to enjoy the Sea View. We offer 10 rooms in total, 6 spacious en suite room garden chalets, as well as several room options in the main building. All the rooms have a large flat screen TV, with Freeview and IPod Alarm Clock docking Stations. Ample free parking is provided with direct access to the beach, Dunwich Forest or the Marshes. RSPB Minsmere, Southwold and Aldeburgh are all close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchor Hotel Walberswick
The Anchor Walberswick, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.