We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lampland House

Lampland House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walberswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lampland House
Save
You added Lampland House to your Saves list
Walberswick, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Walberswick B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a tastefully decorated and spotless bed and breakfast. It is in a very good location and very quiet. There is a very lovely garden with attractive espaliers. Stephanie the owner, is very friendly and helpful.She makes you feel welcomed. She prepared excellent breakfasts including fresh fruit salad and strong coffee.We had the en suite room which was light, beautifully decorated and comfortable. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Ensuite room is the best, spacious, good bathroom and nice terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England UK
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We hadn't been to Walberswick or Southwold for many years so we decided to rectify this and booked into Lampland House for a couple of nights. The local community bus picked us up from Saxmundham station and dropped outside the guest house - brilliant service! We were greeting by Stephanie who was the perfect hostess and then shown to our room - which was terrific. Very comfortable with bright New England style of nautical decoration; patio doors onto the garden' plenty of cupboard and hanging space; tea and coffee (with fresh milk) and a very bright and modern bathroom with an round open shower and double wash bowls. Breakfast was at a single table in the lobby which was not a problem as some reviewers have indicated! The food was excellent with fresh juice and fruit and a cooked meal from local produce. The house is not in the centre of the village but is lovely and quiet and only a short walk from the two pubs the beach and the river. A torch is provided as there is no street lighting in the village. We had a really very pleasant stay here and Stephanie was able to advise us on local walks (try the one down to Dunwich). On our departure we had phoned for the bus and it duly picked us up on time and took us back to the nearest railway station! The sun was shining during our stay and it was still quite warm so all-in-all this was a super three day visit and one to be highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are three rooms - the one we had is en suite. You may have to share the bathroom if you get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a lovely time. The welcome was great and Stephanie and Johnny were the perfect hosts. The breakfasts (back on Weightwaters now) were well cooked and used local produce.

The decor is calming. Our only thought - which we shared with Stephanie and Johnny - was that we were both too short to see in the bathroom mirror!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent four nights in this B and B and had both rooms for the duration of our stay. We arrived at the appointed time and met Stephanie who, along with her husband Johnny, provided a warm welcome then and throughout our stay. Our rooms were spotless and comfortable. (If you need a lot of space, then go for the double with the en-suite. The other room, though smaller, is perfectly fine for relaxing and the double-aspect windows provide light and a view onto the immaculate grounds.) Breakfasts were delicious - fresh fruit, cereal, orange juice, any combination of cooked English breakfast items. This was served in the very large hall which is airy and beautifully decorated. Stephanie creates an informal, yet not overly familiar, atmosphere and has an excellent eye for design and interior decoration.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were delighted with our visit. Stephanie and Johnny both made us feel very welcome. They were chatty and welcoming and offered advice about the local area and eateries. Even before our arrival, Steph had suggested possibilities for eating out and offered to make bookings for us. We had a lovely large room with en-suite shower room. The room had double doors opening onto the garden and a secluded seating area, which would have been lovely in the summer. There are only two small points I would pick up and comment on from other reviews: I think a lock on the door would be a good idea. It wasn't an issue during our stay as we were the only guests, but if other people had been staying I would have felt happier being able to lock our door. The second point is seating: yes, as guests you are out and about exploring, but a couple of comfy chairs to relax into would be a great addition. The room was certainly large enough.
These are such minor and personal points, I'm sure loads of other people would be perfectly happy to lounge on the bed; which incidentally was very comfy!
Breakfast was lovely; yoghurts, fresh fruit and cereals followed by a freshly cooked breakfast, cooked to your order while you eat your cereals! Yes, it's served in a hallway......but that 'hallway' is a big open plan area in the centre of the house, with loads of natural light and no through traffic. We were even treated to a glass of champagne with our breakfast on New Year's day. What more could we ask for?
Sorry for the time lapse in writing this review; no reason, apart from forgetfulness.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We spent two nights in this wonderful part of the country, and booked both the rooms - the twin and the double. The breakfasts were fantastic, and the couple who own the B and B are charming and helpful. It is a beautiful and fantastically clean house, which is designed with the utmost care. The owners serve fresh local food on beautiful crockery, which adds to the whole ambiance.

The only small quibbles I have is that it might be best to refrigerate the milk left out for guests for the tea, as it was on the turn when we drank it, and make sure there is always fresh water left out. And the twin room needs more space for hanging clothes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, North Yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

If you want high standards of cleanliness and comfort, if you want beautiful surroundings, if you want privacy, if you want highest quality breakfast, and if you want to be looked after by a charming couple - this is for you
The house is light, designed and decorated to the highest standard reflecting the themes of the sea and delighting the eye wherever you look. The rooms are comfortable with the best beds we have ever slept in - thick high quality mattresses, natural pillows and pure white linen. We stayed in the twin bed room with the large private bathroom next door with latest spotless fittings. The double room is larger, with a really beautiful on suite bathroom, light and beautifully decorated with french windows to its private garden seating area with - its the most exceptional B&B room you could iimagine. Stephanie & John are charming, and know exactly how to be welcoming, warm friendly but not intrusive. The breakfast was fresh and delicious with fresh fruit salads and everything cooked beautifully. I would recommend this as the best

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lampland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lampland House

Address: Walberswick, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Walberswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Walberswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eye-catching, immaculate New England style weatherboarded home of an interior designer. The property has featured extensively in national homes and interiors magazines and is stylish, comfortable and peaceful. Quiet position on the Suffolk coastal path with direct access to numerous footpaths across marsh and heathland, the property is set in a third of an acre of gardens architecturally planted to reflect Mediterranean themes. The house has contemporary fitments- thermostatically controlled and fixed head showers, recessed downlighting. Tranquil decor reflects gentle coastal colours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lampland House Walberswick, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lampland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.