We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious Food Pub – Beer not great either” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor at Walberswick

The Anchor at Walberswick
Main Street, Walberswick IP18 6UA, England
01502 722112
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Situated in the pretty seaside village of Walberswick, with views from the rooms and terraces over to the sand dunes, beach and sea. A short walk to the beach, wonderful walks to Dunwich and Southwold.A cosy pub with a log fire in the bar, restaurant and family room. We have 10 comfortable bedrooms, 4 in the main Arts & Craft building and 6 garden chalets, clad in eco-sourced wood. The garden chalets have sofas and outside seating for sunny days. We also have 3 dog friendly chalets with French doors opening onto the back garden.
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Pretentious Food Pub – Beer not great either”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our only disappointment on our Pub Tour of Suffolk. All the other pubs we visited (from the CAMRA Good Beer Guide) were genuine friendly places with a good focus on beer. This place is essentially food orientated, with lots of false décor, e.g. old books stacked on shelved etc..

All this could be excused if the beer was in great condition, but it was probably the least appealing pint I had in our four days in Suffolk pubs.

All in all, if you like good beer and a genuine pub experience, this is probably one to give a miss.

Lastly, I nearly threw up when the waitress approached us and came out with “Would we be wanting menus?” She actually turned out to be nice girl, but it kind of summed the place up.

I am sure they will not miss the beer enthusiasts, as their focus is people who spend big money on fancy food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor at Walberswick, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am sorry to read your comments, particularily as the books you mention are 2 private collections of friends and family. The pictures are mostly painted by my friends and family, the ceramics are ones I made. Our cookery books, wine and beer books are constantly used by our team for reference, quite a lot have personal inscriptions. Our food is simple and made with care by our team. If the beer was not too your liking, we would have changed it, our cellarmen do take real pride and interest in the beer we keep. Your review describes a completely different pub to the one my husband and I have spent 9 years growing. I really am sorry you managed to get that impression.
With best wishes
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    68
    37
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fort william
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“poor food, variable service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Starters were small, thrown together with no care with dipping sauces for the squid in plastic ramekins. The pork was badly over cooked and all the fries with the steaks were barely cooked at all. We sent one steak back, in fact we could have sent all the main course back but found the waitress off hand and slightly superior! puddings also disappointed. Left with the feeling that no one really cared about the food. Maybe to busy for there own good and have taken their eye off the ball. We had lunch in march and it was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethMellor, Owner at The Anchor at Walberswick, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
I am sorry for your experience. I am particularily sorry that we were not able to iron out your issues at the time. Leaving a restuarant disappointed is something knowone likes, I am sorry that you felt it necessary to write such a review, especially as you had had a good experience in March.
I hope you will come and try us again!
Best wishes
Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lovely stopping off point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from lunch at The Anchor, which was a much needed break mid way through a long circular walk over the river from Southwold. We had been anticipating this meal for almost a year, having called in there on a similar walk last summer when we weren't in need of food. The patio area at the rear of the building is a delight, & we ended up relaxing in the sunshine for nearly 2 hours! We found a nice patch of shade for our 4-footed friend to chill out whilst we ate, ordered our pints of Adnams (slightly disappointed that they only had bitter & Broadside on offer, when we would have preferred to sample one of their summer brews) & perused the menus. Unusually it was the meat-eater who struggled to find something that appealed, as the one dish he really liked the look of (pork schnitzel with mushroom & cornichon sauce) wasn't available. When we explained our delay in choosing to the very pleasant waitress, she said she would see what she could do - & she came back 2 minutes later to say that the chef would make one for us specially! It proved to be excellent, as was the crab linguini with garlic & chilli. 2 more pints of Adnams later & we were replete, rested, & refreshed for the 2nd half of our walk. Will definitely be calling in on our next trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely setting at the end of a delightful road through a gorgeous village, set off in the evening sunset. Great selection of beers and wines, cosy gastropub feel. I had 3 courses and each was delicious. Highly recommend the cheese and onion tart for starters. Then I had a hake, asparagus and potato dish with a hollandaise sauce that was to die for - I could have eaten that every night of the week and not got bored. For dessert we shared a tasting plate of tiny desserts which was a nice option to finish, although the lemon tart wasn't nearly tart enough for us! The only thing that let it down was when the main courses arrived, our friends ordered more wine and it didn't come until after they'd finished their mains. Apart from that the service was lovely and the whole bill came to only £25 a head plus tip. Very good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location, service needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We detoured to Walberswick on a sunny afternoon to lunch at The Anchor after a tecommendation. It was lovely sitting outside in the sun with a view towards the sea. Good beer but mixed food quality. Unfortunately service was not at all proactive and very slow. Overall we were disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor at Walberswick also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 
Blythburgh, Suffolk
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Anchor at Walberswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor at Walberswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.