We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nights In Southwold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
west bridgford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two Nights In Southwold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Booked online when looking for a reasonably priced place in Southwold which is notoriously not cheap. Got the large single/small double which was absolutely fine for a couple of nights. Larger rooms look splendid and will be trying one of them next time. However, where the place wins is in the welcome you get, the staff were all really friendly, attentive and helpful and, as you would expect from a restaurant with rooms, the food was excellent. We ate in on the first evening and took advantage of the beautiful fish that was on offer. Breakfast was a real treat because although they offered the full english, they also had eggs benedict and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and a beautiful smoked haddock and poached egg dish with a champagne sauce (who's name escapes me). I am sure we will be staying again.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the smallest room so can't comment on the larger rooms but we backed onto the chu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    68
    23
    9
    4
See reviews for
61
383
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed there for a night with the wife and kids and we had dinner in the restaurant. We were all made incredibly welcome and the food, both dinner and breakfast was out of this world. We stayed in the suite and it was just superb. The bedroom was very well appointed, was incredibly comfortable and we had plenty of space. We are planning our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrentham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just came back from a fantastic night away at the Sutherland in the Duke of York room which is incredible old, dating back to the 1600's when James II stayed there, and it really was 'fit for a king'. From the warm and friendly welcome through to the scrumptious soft bed, fantastic decor, to the well prepared breakfast we were made to feel very special. We hope to see you again as soon as we can. Thanks once again for your amazing customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sutherland House last night. It was a truly lovely evening, made even more special by a very warm welcome, with attention to detail customer service. Our room really was the wow factor! Such character, steeped in history and a painting on the wall dating back to 1600's! Being a professional artist, I loved this! We stayed in the Duke of York Room and wish we could have stayed longer!

Being a coffee lover, I love the touch of the fresh filter coffee in our room! Usually have to make do with drab, tasteless instant sachets! The bed linen and pillows were sumptuous and the feel of the room really cosy.

Warmly greeted at breakfast by a lovely friendly lady and served well. Totally loved my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and that lovely coffee again!

Great stay, feeling refreshed and relaxed and definately going back with my lovely Mum to treat her too!

Warmest wishes to the owners and staff.
Patricia Cockerill

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHsouthwold, General Manager at Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
So glad you had a wonderful time staying with us and thank you for your kind comments, I am so pleased you liked the little touches that make all the difference, don't worry we will have plenty of coffee ready for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate here on the recommendation of our B&B owners and it was a lovely meal. The interior of the restaurant is nicely decorated and very cosy. They have a very good wine list and also serve St Peters ales.

The food was cooked perfectly and served by friendly staff. We had starters, mains and shared a dessert with 2 beers each and it came to £85 - that included a 10% discount because we had been recommended.

I would definitely eat here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting somewhere a bit special

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A great combination of excellent food, warm hospitality and first class accommodation full of history. Andy and his team make this a wonderful stay in the charming village of Southwold.
The restaurant offers first class seafood - do not miss out on the lobster (if available); it was sublime.
We recommend this establishment without hesitation! Needless to say, we'll be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sounds like a contradiction, but the title genuinely sums up this great little hotel. It is people that can make the customer experience a special one, Andy and his small Team certainly did that. From the moment we walked in we were put at ease. Andy's relaxed, friendly, helpful welcome set the tone for our three day visit, my promise to return is not an empty one. The Duke of York room was classy, very comfortable and steeped in history. And then there was the food, superb full english breakfast, unique black pudding and excellent menu choice. The evening meals (we ate there on two nights) were nothing short of sensational, lovely atmosphere in the small intimate restaurant with superbly cooked and presented food, what a treat!. All this with the delightful seaside town on the doorstep. Thank you Sutherland House, you can be very proud of the service you so excellently provide.

Room Tip: Duke of York fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 56 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutherland House Hotel And Restaurant
Sutherland Hotel Southwold
Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant Southwold, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutherland House Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.