We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head Hotel

The Kings Head Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Kings Head Hotel
Save
You added The Kings Head Hotel to your Saves list
High Street, Southwold IP18 6AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Visited over the may bank holiday, after noticing the food offering advertised. Wasn't the quickest to arrive but we were warned. Nice fish and chips for £5 represented good value for us, adnams beer on draft was excellent. Only shame was it was a limited menu!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    6
    8
    14
See reviews for
4
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have been to Southwold on dozens of occasions and tried every hotel and pub except this one until Bank holiday Monday just gone.

We were walking past the fish and chip shop and thought about joining the long queue(wish we had) when over the road we spotted the Kings Arms offering Adnams Beer(excellent) and a sign for fish and chips at £5

On entering the pub which was fairly empty(should have realised this was a bad sign as Southwold was packed to bursting) we ordered beers and fish and chips to be told we would have a bit of a wait, Thought maybe 20 mins or so to cook chips and fish as only about a dozen people in the pub.

How wrong were we an hour and 5 minutes later after being told we were next in the fryer(I know it was hot on Monday but this was going to extreemes) it arrived. A piece of fish the size of a fish finger(this is not an exageration) and wedges with skins on which were oven cooked disgusting and dry

By the way the carpets looked like they were last hoovered before the Dyson was invented and the toilets were disgusting too

serves us right for expecting this place(no pun) to live up to the high standards of all the other establishments in Southwold,

So dont go here try the Nelson or Sole Bay Inn if you can get in as they have a great atmosphere and the food is fantastic too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Kings head southwold good choice for news drink with family there was14 of us a baby and 2 dogs bar staff brill James the barman looked after us all very polite good service thought he was the manager cos he had good knowledge of pub and area family were from holland and South Africa so they found him interesting... It was clean and cosy fire was going overall very nice pub they did food too which was starting mid January so going back again just four of us for meal...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Mixed personal feelings over last few years, the pub is tied to Adnams which is the home town brew. Interior has been updated, looks more modern and fresh. Didn't eat there as just passing on way home from the shops! Pleasant staff, big telly which you don't have to look at. Accommodates children well. Menu looks worth a try, as we visit Southwold often will def try next time. Give it a go. As other other pubs on the seafront are often overcrowded you'll be able to relax here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I needed to overnight in Southwold and selected the Kings Head based on price.
The room was clean and bright. The sheets smelled fresh and everything worked.
The full English breakfast was made with quality food and nicely presented.
I would stay here again, the young couple running the pub are friendly and
obviously hard working and enthusiastic - all of which shows in their establishment.
It was what I wanted and will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the same time as the last reviewer and all the say is true.

However, we feel there was more good than bad in our own personal experience. This little pub could be a gold mine for Adnams, it's location is perfect for brewery tours and is in the price range of most ( unlike the two Adnams owned Hotels in Southwold, which are lovely, but expensive.)

The main areas are tired, ( carpets need to be replaced as a matter of urgency ) but our room was clean, spacious, had comfy bed and hot water for the shower, which is really all you need.

Management do need to organise themselves though. Leaving one young inexperienced person ( however nice they are ) in charge of breakfast, is a recipe for disaster. Simple things like side plates, juice and tea urns would streamline things. The breakfast itself was hot and tasty so no complaints there.

Everyone was polite and attentive and doing there best.

The food in the ( empty) restaurant was lovely- unfortunately I was given the wrong meal but when this was pointed out free drinks were rapidly produced- so all good.


As you can probably tell we are pretty easy going...

But things will need to shape up and quickly, if not bad reviews will drive people away for good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For the first time ever I feel duty bound to comment on a hotel. Having stayed in many pubs, you expect a certain level of noise, but in every other case, we have received good service, a clean room and a good hearty breakfast.
Sadly, the Kings Head is the worst place I have ever stayed in and I would not recommend this place to anyone. You can happily forgive dated decor and wear & tear, but filth is totally unacceptable. The one wet wipe used to clean the bathroom was left in the bathroom and the bedroom hadn’t seen a duster or vacuum cleaner for a very long time. The TV remote was nowhere to be seen and the volume control on the TV itself, changed channels for you. Two loose teabags & two UHT milks in a dish with a multitude of sugar sachets and handful of coppers (?!?) were the extent of the tea tray.
If we didn’t already feel like we were in a Fawlty Towers episode, we did at breakfast. Having been told that breakfast started at 8.30am, we were turned away as the head chef hadn’t turned up and the chap cooking the breakfast couldn’t get into the kitchen. Twenty minutes later we were allowed in and given cereal and …….eventually milk. No fruit juice was offered and when requested, it arrived in a dirty glass. Toast arrived but no plates and …….eventually butter. One cup of tea or coffee per person and no refill offered. The breakfast …….eventually arrived and was absolutely fine, but spoilt by the long wait.
To add insult to injury, upon checkout, they tried to charge us for someone else’s food and someone else’s bar bill. Very cheeky, as we didn’t feel like paying the overpriced room fee as it was!
None of the above is the fault of the young and very personable staff that we came into contact with, but the management should really get their finger out and clean up. They have a Tripadvisor sticker in their window, but I don’t think they’ve done anything about the issues raised by their customers on here and on their feedback forms. We would have raised these issues with the Manager, but they did not put in an appearance.

Room Tip: A different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: High Street, Southwold IP18 6AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Kings Head Southwold
The Kings Head Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.