We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Pub/restaurant/rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Randolph Hotel

Save Saved
You added Randolph Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Randolph Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Wangford Rd | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Top Pub/restaurant/rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Visited our very good friends, Donna & David at the Randolph ably assisted by Cameron & all the staff, for a regular visit & to catch up with family.
David you run a great establishment & as you know we love our trips so much so that it seems 2 or 3 visits a year is not enough, already booked in for November!!
Thank you for indulging us & its always lovely to have dinner on the first night with family in the restaurant. The very good varied menu & wine list is a challenge sometimes but we always seem up to it! Beers always worth waiting for & the Adnams is superb. Chrissie loves the white burgundy!
The walk into Southwold is exactly 1 mile & when the weather is good as it was is very relaxing, great location.

Thanks for everything
Chrissie & Reggie

Room Tip: Room 11 is lovely large & with a lovely sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear R and C

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Randolph and Room 11, we are delighted that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on all your lovely comments to the Team who will all be most grateful. We look forward to seeing you again when you return in November.

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
24
100
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Randolph for three nights during the Aldeburgh Festival. It was excellent value for money. Plusses were the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, two good chairs in our big bedroom, and the quality of the food in the restaurant. Details which held us back from giving five stars were the lack of space in the bathroom (I like to be able to put my toiletries somewhere) and the slightly odd location in a housing estate. However you can (and we did) walk in to Southwold for a meal or a sea breeze.
Particularly good service was when we asked for a sachet of decaf coffee for the room and were almost instantly given a full cafetiere of real decaf coffee.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Cynic060

Thank you so much for staying with us recently, we are delighted that you received 'service with a smile' and that you felt you received excellent value for money. We have taken note of your comments regarding space in room 12's bathroom. We hope to upgrade this next year and are looking to install a large walk-in shower, which will leave enough space for suitable shelving for toiletries etc, we really appreciate the constructive criticism though.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the furnishings in the room, and that the staff looked after you well with the decafe coffee. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Your comments regarding our positioning made me smile however!. We don't see ourselves as being in the middle of a housing estate! more-so in a village location, with great neighbours. After all, The Randolph was built in 1899 when it was the main road into Southwold, since then houses were built so they could be close to us!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future and hope that you enjoyed your time at The Aldeburgh Festival.

With best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

As guests of uk cycling holidays, we were treated to a well known overnighting venue that their regular clients favour when touring the Suffolk Coast. We therefore knew all about the high standard that David and Donna with their team at "The Randolph" constantly strive to achieve. We were nevertheless overwhelmed with the overall standard that we experienced. A warm welcome greeted us and a room that was crisp and spotless was our resting place for the night. The evening meal was worthy of a review alone and we soon were privy to rewarding comments generally around the restaurant from other guests. Nothing was too much trouble for the front of house staff, all remembering the value of a smile.
Like all professionals David and Donna made it look so easy but when you take a second look you are well aware that this is all achieved through hard work, long hours and going flat out to make " The Randolph" the place to return to......mission accomplished... Well done team " R " may you continue to go from strength to strength. ...Robert and Diana Park

Room Tip: Room 11 would take some beating....very comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Diana and Robert

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Randolph. We are delighted with our relationship with UK Cycle Breaks and glad that you were guests of theirs. We pride ourselves on our hospitality offer and we are thrilled that it ticked all the boxes for you.

We strive for excellence in all that we do and it is so wonderful for you to share your experiences with potential guests of the future via this medium.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Three generations of birthdays-mine 60+, daughters 40th on day of arrival, and grandsons 18th. So we thought we would treat ourselves with a short break. Decided on pub with rooms so grandson could buy us a drink! We needed somewhere dog friendly and this certainly was. Our border terrier Ben was made such a fuss of from wonderful friendly staff. Our rooms 3 and 9 were great. Room 9 a great size especially with the dog. Food excellent and nothing too much trouble. The real outstanding thing was when we arrived our daughter was given a complimentary bottle of champers. Wow. How kind. Planning to stay again already.

Room Tip: Some rooms to do not have showers. Rooms 3(twin) and 9 excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Gianna F

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your Birthday celebrations with us - TripAdvisor can be a great medium to increase future customer footfall and we are very grateful that you have taken the time to share your GENUINE experiences with those potential future customers. We are very proud of our #1 Position on TripAdvisor and we work hard to ensure that our customers keep us there. Thanks again from us all at The Randolph

With best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We chose this hotel based upon excellent and positive reviews. Had initially looked for a pub with rooms. The Randolph Hotel was even better than this, as our room (8) was larger than we'd have found in a pub and the bathroom was huge. The greeting we received from Cameron was friendly, warm and genuine. This set the standard, which did not drop for our 3 night stay. The bar is like a pub's, with regular and local clientele, who are also as welcoming and friendly. All that has been said about the breakfast is true. My one regret is that I didn't discover the scrambled egg with smoked salmon until the last morning. Sublime! We dined in the evening once and the rib eye steak is the best I have had in ages. All courses were faultless and delicious. The restaurant was full each night, which speaks volumes. David the proprietor was wonderful, when on our first evening he asked if we wanted a table for dinner and all we really felt like eating was cheese and biscuits. This proved absolutely no problem. A fantastic cheese platter, served on slate (fab!), with grapes, chutneys and biscuits was served to us at the bar. Perfect and we could not have asked for more. We heard another guest make a polite request for something and again, this was not a problem. I realise I have chosen a title for this review which is the same as someone else's - 'exceeded expectations'. Our stay at The Randolph Hotel was all that and more. When asked by friends how was our trip to Southwold, we have said we hit the jackpot when picking somewhere to stay. We would highly recommend The Randolph Hotel and without hesitation, we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear SallieH

How lovely to receive a wonderful review like this, thank you so much for taking the time to do so. It was lovely to meet you both recently and we look forward to seeing you again next time.

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. It was wonderful. Room was excellent and the staff were lovely. The meal was very good and the breakfast was scrumptious, cooked to order. They were very accommodating and made a bacon sandwich which wasn't on the menu. Would highly recommend this hotel. Oh and the chef let me borrow is charger because I had forgotten mine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Sullimarg

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Randolph. We really appreciate you taking the time to advise potential future guests of our hospitality.

We very much look forward to looking after you again in the future.

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a terrific place that under promises - as a basic 3 star - and over delivers. Really nice friendly but not over fussy welcome, good service, spotless nicely appointed room, and comfortable bed; a lovely nights sleep. And, honestly, one of the best breakfasts I've ever eaten, in any hotel or any star. Brilliant value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Nick G

Thank you so much for choosing to review your recent stay at The Randolph. Having just sat down from a brilliantly busy Easter Weekend, this really was the icing on the cake!

We strive tirelessly to ensure that our guests enjoy our hospitality and we are immensely grateful for those guests like yourself that take the time to share their honest feedback with potential guests of the future.

We look forward to looking after you again in the future.

With very best wishes and thank you again

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Hotel

Address: 41 Wangford Rd | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Randolph Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randolph Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randolph Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.