We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Randolph Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Randolph Hotel to your Saves list
Randolph Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Wangford Rd | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wedding to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Should have done this review sooner.! It is 2 years ago that my daughter and son in law held their wedding reception at The Randolph. Right from the moment we contacted David about the arrangements for their special day we felt like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble, with prompt replies to e-mails of which there were plenty as we live in Staffordshire, too the arrival of wedding guests staying at the hotel for the week end. The staff were wonderful from start to finish. On the wedding day the room for the reception was a delight to behold as everything my daughter had wished for the romantic 'beach theme' was carried out exquisitely. The menu choice for the wedding breakfast was wonderful, even the vegetarian options made our mouths water. The standard of service, presentation of the food from starter to the sweet was amazing. All 70 guests just wanted the evening to continue as we danced to fantastic music, DJ / entertainer recommended by David. The weather was glorious so we spilled out in to the pleasant garden for photographs and drinks. Even the children had a fab time. The evening buffet arrived and we again was overwhelmed by the presentation of a wonderful selection of food available. Our guests where delighted with the rooms as all are furnished to a very high standard, clean and comfortable. Next morning when we gathered for breakfast everything was back in its normal place. The full English breakfast was well worth the wait...as they use all local produce. Thank you to everyone on the team who contributed to making the occasion a wedding to remember.

We went back again last October for a long week end and the welcome was just as warm, the food excellent and the service from the staff was second to non. Morning, noon or night the staff are kind, courteous, polite and considerate. Looking forward to this years visit. A very big thank you David to you and the team. I can't praise you enough. From a very happy visitor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    50
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
105
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Polite and kind staff who look after adults and children alike. Lovely food (although menu a little limited). A solid performer that has never let us down. We have a long journey to get to Reydon and Southwold - and the Randolph is often our first stop! Many thanks to the team for always looking after us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were a little unlucky with the timing of our stay at th Randolph Hotel. The weather was exceptionally hot and, as there was no air conditioning, we had to sleep with the windows wide open. As a result my wife and I were eaten alive by the voracious mosquitoes. My wife is still suffering from the bites two weeks later. We blame ourselves for not packing the insect repellent but we did not expect it to be this bad in an English seaside resort.

In spite of this we had an enjoyable stay at the Randolph. The room was OK, if a little dated, and very clean. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were enormous, particularly the sausages! The chef was excellent. The evening meals were extremely well cooked, nicely presented and very tasty, but expensive. The vegetable lasagne was "to die for".

If you are getting on a bit and not as mobile as you once were the stairs are a challenge, particularly if your bedroom is on the 2nd floor. Fortunately, there was a member of staff to help you with you luggage on request.

The location of the hotel was a little disappointing as it was further from the sea than we imagined. If you did not have transport it would be a long trek to the beach every day.

Room Tip: Be sure to pack your Autan mosquito spray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everyone we met at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. There is big car park and a great beer garden. Bar is delightful and well stocked. We stayed in room 10 with a king size bed which was lovely and beautifully furnished. Bathroom benefited from a shower and a bath. Hotel is a 15 min walk from the town. There is currently a building site next door so a long lie in was out of the question! Would definitely go back here, a delightful small hotel. Breakfast was really really good!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Arrived on a Friday night at @2015 and were quickly checked in. Went to the room which was accessible and easily reached although anyone with mobility issues might find the stairs a bit daunting. I had booked a small double and that was what I got - no complaints though, it was perfectly adequate and comfortable and the en-suite was of a reasonable size with a bath and shower. There was bottled water provided as well as a kettle for tea and coffee and biscuits. There is a bar and restaurant downstairs and we ate there on the Saturday night as well as for breakfasts. Food is good, the breakfasts are to die for - great selection of fresh fruit, cereals, and choices other than the usual 'full english,' which is cooked to order. The staff are extremely welcoming and pleasant and on one occasion, even after having directions explained to me twice and still going the wrong way, chased after us to put us on the right track! There is a huge garden area which is extremely pleasant to enjoy a beer or two in and the Hotel is only a 10/15 minute walk into the centre of Southwold.
The only criticism I would have is the lack of a shower screen/curtain around the bath which would go some way to avoiding Lake bathroom! Apart from that it was a very pleasant stay which will be repeated

Room Tip: If you intend spending a fair amount of time in your room then go for a standard double as opposed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have just returned from a short break. This hotel is lovely. The staff were helpful, polite and welcoming. The meal in the restaurant was tasty, well presented and enjoyable. A vegatarian choice was a pleasant alternative. The rooms were tasefully decorated and very comforable. I hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We chose The Randolph for a surprise family weekend celebration near to Southwold in April and we were really pleased we did. 15 of us booked into the hotel and were joined by another 5 for a fantastic meal on the Saturday.
We were impressed with everything during our stay. Friendly welcome, friendly staff, great service. The breakfasts were excellent and as mentioned the evening meal was all we could have hoped for.
Our room was comfortable and clean. (Have been too busy to leave a review until now but as it was such a good hotel thought better late than never.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Hotel

Address: 41 Wangford Rd | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Randolph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randolph Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randolph Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.