We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying visit to Southwold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Randolph Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Randolph Hotel to your Saves list
Randolph Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Wangford Rd | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Flying visit to Southwold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We decided to try the Randolph for an anniversary mid-week getaway. We were not disappointed. The hotel was beautiful, the staff were attentive and courteous and and the location is 2 minutes drive from the Southwold beach front.

We chose an executive double room and got room 11 on the top floor. The room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom was spotless and had a good shower - always a plus for me. They also do an excellent breakfast, the scrambled eggs were perfect.

We will definitely return..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Grant D

Thank you so much for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    50
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
105
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Chanced upon the Randolph on the net for a weekend in Southwold - what a great find. The rooms are comfortable,staff are excellent and the food and beer good. The welcome is charming and nothing is too much trouble. Local knowledge was forthcoming and excellent and led to a full weekend. The forthcoming residents lounge will be a welcome addition of bar seating. Be sure to visit Snape Maltings for shopping.

Room Tip: Room 10 has a thin wall backing on to the next rooms bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Past Guest

Well your title 'Great Hotel' we are very pleased with indeed!

Thank you for your time in writing this, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed recently with a very exacting colleague who works judging and grading hotels ... Friendly owner and staff - clean and comfy rooms - but top of the list is the food - amazing chef well above expectations - veggie curry to die for ( not even veggie ). Fab £10 night where you get food and a drink for ten pounds. Great place and great team :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Pigratsmum

Thank you for such lovely comments about your stay in rooms 4 and 5 this last week. It was a pleasure to look after you and your colleague. 'Home from Home' is just perfect a description and I hope gives confidence for other guests to come and stay as well. I have told the 'noisy' chefs how much you enjoyed your curry!

Best wishes to you and thank you again for staying with us

Best wishes


David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of all the good trip advisor reviews. It is located in a small village on the outskirts of Southwold and is in a residential area. The building is of red brick and when we drove into the car park at the back, which is a bit scruffy (mud and pot holes), we wondered whether we had made a mistake. But once in, we got a warm welcome and we could see that it was clean and modern inside. We had booked a twin room at a rate of £99. Our room was also modern, clean, warm and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. As we had, had a long day we were back in our room after eating in Southwold by about 7.30pm. By that time the restaurant was in full swing and was very busy. We soon discovered that our room was directly above the kitchen. We knew that for a while we were probably going to hear the usual kitchen preparation noises - which is understandable, but as the evening went on, and above the sound of our TV, we overhead an angry tirade obviously about something someone had said. This involved a significant amount of extreme swearing and banging around. Once this had stopped, continuing loud noise, laughter, messing about, more really offensive swearing and then dance music was played on and off. At this point my husband went down to complain. The music was turned off, but the swearing, laughing and joking carried on. By 10pm ish we got one final rendition - we thought for us - from one of the 'lads' of the Titanic song or similar with hoots of laughter surrounding it, and then we heard a car drive off. From then on everything was quiet, we slept well, the breakfast was excellent and the reception/breakfast staff remained friendly and helpful. All the good things said about this hotel are definitely true. But I'm afraid the lads in the kitchen and their high spirits and ceaseless choice language rather spoilt it for us...or maybe we're just getting old! Do think about staying here, but just be more discerning about which room you stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear dotdash

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on here, we were delighted that you enjoyed our hospitality and our twin bedded room 2. This is a newly refurbished room with, and as you put it, a lovely bathroom!. The Hotel is now looking quite stunning having been surrounded by scaffolding for the last few weeks but alas you are quite right, the car park is looking tired.

Good news however, that this is the next project!

Already (21st October 2012) the tired hedging and fencing has been removed and new fencing is being erected within 2 weeks. This will give us more parking availability. Additional external lighting was completed this weekend and our entire car park is being resurfaced w/c 20th November. This is a significant investment for us and we know how much it will make a difference to our clientele and hope it will avoid people such as yourselves thinking that they had maybe made a mistake when arriving. First Impressions count.

With regards to your comments regarding noise eminating from the kitchen areas or perhaps outside. I have fully investigated this and believe it to be nothing more than kitchen banter aided perhaps by an over volumed radio! I have made our team very aware of the consequences of any repeat of this. I am sorry that any offence was taken by their unnecessary choice language.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Randolph in the near future, I am sure that you will enjoy the changes that we have, and are, making which in turn gives us and future guests confidence in our No 1 Tripadvisor status for Hotels in the Southwold Area.

Very best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Couple in early 20's spent 3 nights at the hotel in October. Extremely impressed by the cleanliness, friendliness and overall service. Whilst room 5 was compact, it was well equipped, comfortable and kept clean on a daily basis. The price was very reasonable, especially considering the quality of the lovely breakfasts. The hotel is 2 mins drive or 15mins walk from the centre of Southwold so very ideally placed. Overall, a really nice stay and we'd be happy to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Sando2010

Thanks for your lovely review of room 5 our standard double room with Bath En Suite. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay in what is our smallest room and that you found it compact and well equipped all the same.

We hope to see you again

Best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We recently had a two day stopover at this hotel. The facilities were excellent and the room, clean, airy and very comfortable ( although I had a sprained ankle and it took me ages to get to the top floor- my own fault however and the staff helped with all the luggage as we had quite a lot since we had been travelling for several days before starting for home from a reunion in Woodbridge
The staff were vey helpful, friendly and attentive and the food was excellent. As I was unable to get about easily because of my ankle we didn't really have much chance to explore on foot but saw enough to know that this is a place to which we would like to return and I would be more than happy to book in here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear JGW

Thank you for your review, everytime I see Middlesborough on the TV I think of you! I hope to visit your area one day to see if its true! Thank you for staying at The Randolph. It was a pleasure to meet you both

best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed one night on a walking trip. The hotel is a delightful purpose built Edwardian hotel which retains all the charm of that period but with all the needs of the modern age also catered for. Our bedroom was clean well furnished with good quality bedding towels etc. Breakfast is served in a lovely bright room with an excellent variety of items available. Dinner is served in the restaurant and bar areas for those who like a less formal setting. The menu was inventive, the food excellent, and fairly priced. It is an Adnams' House serving cask ales. All the staff were helpful and competent. It is managed by David and Donna who are to be congratulated for creating a homely hotel run with professional attention to detail. Not surprisingly the place was busy but the place was so well run numbers made no adverse impact

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSmithRandolph, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear belisaurius

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon

best wishes

David and Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randolph Hotel

Address: 41 Wangford Rd | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Randolph Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randolph Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randolph Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.