We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe

Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe
4 Draymans Square, Southwold IP18 6G, England (Formerly Adnams Cellar and Kitchen Store)
01502 725612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 42 Restaurants in Southwold
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: British, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet
Description: The Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe offers a stunning location to take a break from the hustle and bustle of Southwold. Enjoy freshly baked breads and cakes, fresh salads and soups, Brewers Ploughmans and Jacket potatoes all served to your table by our friendly staff. Take the opportunity to relax on seating areas created using the old copper stills from the brewery or outside in our picturesque courtyard. And if you needed more incentive to visit then there's free Wifi too!
Derby
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stopped off here for lunch. Very confusing system if you wanted a salad though as I ended up queuing twice. I was told to pay first before getting the salad then going back to the first queue to actually get the food. Once I had got the food it was actually very nice. Everyone was confused with the system though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Front Office Manager at Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. Based on your feedback we have reviewed the queueing procedure so it's much simpler. However, we're are glad that this did not affect your overall experience of our Café and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    42
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wow factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Keep going back! The place has a fab buzzy cosmopolitan atmosphere. Always nice and clean. Food top class especially the Deli Roll, something to die for!
Excellent service with tables always promptly cleared, something not all the local cafes do!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have made a few changes since you last visited but we're still committed to creating the same freshly prepared food that you enjoyed. We hope you shall visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surprise discovery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wandering around Southwold on a dreary January afternoon we stumbled across this busy shop and most importantly, glorious cafe. We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon hot chocolate (with the adults enjoying something less sweet) and loved sitting in the copper tank wondering how we could possibly replicate this in our own home. The cafe staff were so helpful - a highlight of the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're delighted that you stumbled upon our café and enjoyed what you found. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Excellent Shop, Okay Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had lunch in the cafe attached to the Adnams store, after a brewery trip and in-store wine & spirits tasting. The food was okay - a crayfish & rocket sandwich and a chunky sausage roll.

The shop itself is well worth a visit, selling the full range of Adnams beers in bottles and some in 8 pint kegs, as well as a great selection of wines from around the world.

The shop would get 4 or 5 stars, but as this is a restaurant review, the cafe gets 3.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We're glad to hear that you like our store when you visited us - it now has it's own Tripadvisor attraction page. The Café has undergone a recent makeover and menu change so hopefully next time you visit you will find us much improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Had a spot of lunch here after checking out the chocolate wine
( a different xmas pressie ). Lovely soup and cakes

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adnams Cellar & Kitchen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.