We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel, very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel, very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have just spent two nights for our 25th wedding anniversary at the Swan and had a great time. We stayed in a lighthouse room which was spacious quiet and had all the facilities we needed and extra. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing we had a fantastic celebration dinner on the Tuesday night. Beds were spacious and very comfortable.
All in all a fanstatic value for money break. Can't wait to go back and hopefully before the next milestone anniversary

Room Tip: Lighthouse rooms spacious and have patio you can sit and enjoy the sun also small garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit to our hotel. Such a special occasion for you, congratulations. The bonus being you had a wonderful experience at our hotel, I have shared your comments with my team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


All the very best

Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    125
    78
    29
    13
See reviews for
53
237
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Adnams Hotel out of the 70s, food not bad rooms need refurbishing but location good as was breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the review. It appears food and service were found as they should be, which pleases me greatly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We decided to spend a little extra and stop in one of the better hotels for our first visit to Southwold.
We were upgraded to a Lighthouse room, very clean and comfortable, well maintained and decorated.
We decided to eat in the bar and the food was very good for a bar service, other guests seemed impressed by the restaurant service.
The bar was staffed by a very knowledgeable member of staff who was able to discuss the local Adnams beers intelligently, it seems that a full range of the Adnams Copper House distillery brands are available.
Breakfast was served in an atmospheric dining room, quality ingredients and well cooked with plenty of choice including local smoked fish.
Right in the centre of Southwold, you just can't get a better location than this, the Lighthouse rooms are right behind the brewery but we were not disturbed in any way by noise etc.
We were on a walking tour and got a "Green Traveler" discount for not having a car!
A little pricey but then this is Southwold at half term!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. A wonderful review, with some great points made! I’m pleased you were able to take advantage of our Green Traveller discount as well as the upgrade. I have shared all of your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Swan is old - 17th century with many alterations and additions. It has some of the quirks of old buildings. It also has to be said that the decorations are looking somewhat tired in places, specially staircases and corridors. However, the friendly, helpful and professional staff more than make up for this. The atmosphere avoids a feeling of false charm and slickness. It was also clean, which must be a challenge in such an old building. Our room (no.2) was spacious - effectively a suite of sitting room, bedroom and bathroom - and warm (essential in this unseasonally cold spring). It was also very light, facing south west. Lots of storage space and good-size bathroom. It overlooks the Market Place but noise is no problem as the town goes to sleep after about 8pm. The restaurant is comfortable though the menu is ambitious and on our first night, a Sunday, the food was a little below par. Monday evening was much better! Note: Adnams recently took a brave decision not to relocate out of Southwold to a greenfield site, so retaining employment and considerable character in Southwold town centre.
The Swan is a good base for a restful break, with bracing but undemanding walks along dunes, seashore and salt marshes and a welcome slower pace of life. Sadly, many of the houses in the town are second homes or holiday lets, which gives an empty feel off-season. A benefit of that is that they are well-kept.
There is no air-con so no irritating humming noise; windows in our room were large and easy to open.
The hotel is not cheap but I saw no reason to grumble about the price, compared with many other places in the UK and Europe.

Room Tip: The hotel is part of the Adnams brewery site so there may a whiff of brewing at the back. The Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. An excellent account of how Southwold should be enjoyed, it pleases me greatly that your stay was very much as you wished. All of your feedback has been shared with the hotels team, and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the very best

Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay here over the early May bank holiday. Southwold is a very attractive place, and the hotel is in great location, in the centre, but not far from the beach. We had two rooms (30 and 36) at either end of the recently refurbished single story block of Lighthouse rooms. These rooms, decorated in a 'New England' style, are well laid out, very comfortable, with plenty of room, and look out on to an attractive small garden. There is, though, one criticism: room 36 is close to the brewery at the back of the site, and there was permanent low hum in that room ( an extractor fan on the brewery?) which is a problem for a light sleeper ( the staff were unable the change the room). At the time of our stay, room 36 was also missing a sofa.

The staff at the hotel were all friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were good, and the dinner we had there was of excellent quality. We will return!

Room Tip: The Lighthouse rooms that have recently been refurbished are really good, but avoid room 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent visit. An excellent review, sincere thanks for all the kinds comments which have been shared with the team. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kindest regards

Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

great location in the centre of Southwold, parking can be rather difficult, and my room was at the rear in the "garden rooms" King size bed - two singles pushed together, so you can not pass the great divide !!!!!!
For the price I paid I would want a whole bed, one of which had a sunken mattress, which I did complain about but all i got was a shrug of the shoulders and they took my money.
Bathroom was tatty with water marks and flaking paint.
Bar service slow
Lots of mature patrons when I visited

Room Tip: none, make sure its a proper bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for the review. I’m disappointed for you not having the relaxing time in our Garden Rooms as so many do. My staff would not normally “shrug their shoulders” if a guest was delivering feedback, rest assured I will investigate this occurrence. If you wish to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate in contacting me directly. I hope that you will return as we look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our 4 night stay at The Swan. We chose one of the Lighthouse Rooms which are set round a pleasant garden with a view of the famous Faro. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the staff pleasant and attentive but never obtrusive.
A reviewer grumbled about noise from the brewery; we were about as close as you could get to it and slept like logs so we weren't hearing what they were hearing.
We booked from Reception for a tour of the brewery - a well worthwhile thing to do. The samples at the end and the bottle of beer to take home make the small price of the trip pay for itself!
We had dinner in the restaurant twice (very good) but can also recommend the sandwiches from the bar.
Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit to our hotel. A wonderful review thank you sincerely. I have to agree with the value achieved from our Brewery Tour is a genuine must whether staying in Southwold or just visiting. I have shared your feedback with the team, we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just yards from the Adnams Brewery the hotel has been awarded 4 Stars by The AA and two Rosettes for the food in the restaurant. A short stroll from the hotel is the beach at Southwold with its rows of colourful beach huts and the town has a wide selection of individual boutique shops to browse. Our Garden Rooms are Dog Friendly and wheelchair accessible.Brewery and Distillery tours can be arranged for guests and there are plenty of Adnams pubs within walking distance to enjoy a taste of our beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.