We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I took my mum to stay at The Swan recently for a short summer break. I chose the Swan due to its great location close to the beach/shops/restaurants. We booked a garden room but found them a little disappointing, plus we were given a double rather than a twin as requested. The rooms are small and cramped together with not a lot of privacy - everyone looks into your room when they pass by, The patio area is tired and needs livening up with a bit of colour and more flower pots. The car park is an absolute pain and you are loathe to go out as you can never get back in again! My car received a dent whilst there which I think was down to a lorry I saw making a delivery. The problems may have been caused as it was a Bank Holiday however. Breakfast was ok but I think it could be made a bit more special for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. As you point out Bank Holidays are generally are busiest periods, therefore making the car park busier than normal. On your next visit I might recommend one of the front facing hotel rooms which benefit from market square and sea views also being that little bit higher you will have all the privacy you require. Our garden is normally given great praise, however I will discuss your feedback with our gardener. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    125
    78
    29
    13
See reviews for
53
237
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having stayed here before we knew of The Swan's good quality. We were allocated Room 17 at £200 per night. The reception staff were excellent and helpful. The room was very tired and in need of refurbishment. It had a dense stale smell as we walked in. We did not complain as the room was spacious and we thought we might be relocated to a smaller space. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean.
Breakfast Monday morning was a disaster, not only for us, but also for those around us. It started on entering the breakfast room just after 8am the lady who greeted us was very curt and asked us what we wanted before we had even sat down. Having asked for a minute to peruse the menu, she next emerged from the kitchen looked across the width of the room and shouted "what do you want" we found it very embarrassing. We then waited until 8.50 to get the breakfast having asked three seperate waitresses where it had got to. It seemed there was far too many staff on duty and everybody was leaving it to somebody else consequently nothing got done. We were about to walk out when our food arrived and surprisingly it was not fresh the bacon was dry and stuck together and the fried egg had collapsed having clearly sat under a lamp for some time. For £200 a night we expected better.

Room Tip: On booking ask if the room offered is one of their refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm naturally disappointed that on this occasion we fell short of the mark for you. Your feedback has been investigated, and I want to assure you your next visit will be undoubtedly much better. If you wish to discuss this matter personally please do not hesitate in contacting The Swan Hotel.

Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the Swan for four nights bed and breakfast and had two evening meals. The food was the highlight of our stay. It was excellent and to an extremely high standard.
Some internal areas of the hotel were a little 'tired' and could do with some redecoration.
The rear carpark is a nightmare and you are lucky to get a place.
Over all though we had a very pleasant stay and would return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

As Pevsner says, “Southwold is one of the happiest and most picturesque seaside towns in England” and The Swan is very much part and parcel of Southwold. Having recently returned from a four night stay (price of double room – number 18- £255 per night) am happy to say the Swan remains a civilised, old-fashioned hotel with good dining. It suits well the needs of singles, couples and families. The staff are uniformly friendly even if some of the newer waitresses are rather undertrained – i was served a gin and tonic that was filled to overflowing with tonic. The established staff (especially the waitresses) are excellent. I had lunch for six (on Aug 22nd) and the food and service were first rate. I think the waitress was called Jo’ – anyway her idiosyncratic manner and superb waiting enhanced our time. Particularly recommend the seared Scottish scallops. (A chilled soup would be welcome in August.) The lounge is not quite as comfortable as it was ten years ago – it could do arm-chair-wise with a little improvement without turning it into a ‘modern’ hotel. The stair carpets would benefit from a shampoo. The dining room is exceptionally lovely. All in all a really pleasant seaside hotel in an A1 location, that is a touch over-priced. We shall return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yokshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What Adnam's web site won't tell you (and the glossy pics don't show) is that the Swan garden rooms are in the middle of a refurbishment, around half have yet to be done. We wrote to Swan management after a recent stay (in an unrefurbished room, June 26th) which was decidedly mixed. Some of it was downright disappointing, some of it as good as as you'd expect from an Adnams hotel.
Our garden room had peeling paint on the outside of the doors and window, a weed-strewn path and patio, and a coffee table heavily stained with rings. It was replaced and we were told the manager would be in touch but never was. On the upside the food was good at dinner and breakfast, as were the restaurant staff, reception staff were a little cool. It was our first hotel night for a couple of years, so a special trip for us. Just wish we'd known about the refurb. Not sure we'll be going back!
We wrote to the hotel manager, Martin [--], who admitted the hotel has been let down by a few maintenance issues and said that the garden rooms are currently on a 3 year cycle of refurbishment and by December 2012 all 17 rooms in the garden would be done. He added that the coffee tables are a little more difficult, that he'd had a professional look in to the stains and recommended covering with glass. As for the garden, he said that Kevin the gardener has had a torrid time since April, unfortunately once he gets round with his bucket he almost has to start again, with other areas also needing attention.
Maybe it's time to employ another gardener! There certainly didn't seem to be any weeds in front of the refurbished rooms on the sunny side! And maybe discount the rooms until the refurb is complete.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Swan a couple of times and absolutely love this hotel in this wonderful part of Suffolk. This was our third stay and we left a little disappointed this time. This hotel is starting to look and feel a little tired. We stayed in the Lighthouse Rooms (our second time) and this room was comfortable but looking very shabby from the outside - pealing paintwork on the window and door frames and inside scuffed walls and doors - not over impressive for £150 per night. The breakfast was good but the service not up to its usual standards. Not sure if I want to rush back to the Swan given that you can get very good deals (to include dinner) for substantially less than £150 per night at many other Suffolk hotels! Sorry!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback and will look to redecorate the Lighthouse rooms after the Summer season. We hope that you will give us another chance in future - please check our special offers on the website for deals which include dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We love Southwold and were very glad to grab a chance of a visit, even if it was for just one night. We chose a classic lighthouse room around the garden at The Swan, and were allocated room 30 (the room is also confusingly named Lighthouse). It is on the end, closest to the car park and therefore you do get a lot of passing guests having a look in as they go to and from their cars! The CLASSIC lighthouse rooms are more expensive than the Lighthouse rooms (I now realise) as they include “mineral water, dressing gowns, fresh flowers and a patio area” – although we didn’t get any fresh flowers and all the garden rooms seem to have a patio. Rm 30 is a spacious room with an enormous, comfortable bed, a comfy sofa and a good sized bath room. The bathroom is the side of the brewery, so it does sound like a car engine is constantly running outside the window, but if the bathroom door is shut, the noise is lessened in the bedroom. Room 46 (and 45 or 47?) are 2 or 3 rooms together and look like they would be quiet rooms. The gardens were very pretty and it was lovely to relax in the sun outside our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and all the photos! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just yards from the Adnams Brewery the hotel has been awarded 4 Stars by The AA and two Rosettes for the food in the restaurant. A short stroll from the hotel is the beach at Southwold with its rows of colourful beach huts and the town has a wide selection of individual boutique shops to browse. Our Garden Rooms are Dog Friendly and wheelchair accessible.Brewery and Distillery tours can be arranged for guests and there are plenty of Adnams pubs within walking distance to enjoy a taste of our beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.