We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of red Lion

red Lion
2 South Green, Southwold, Suffolk | IP18 6ET, Southwold, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Southwold
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We ate twice during our 3 night stay in Southwold
They managed to seat 6 of us athough they were quite busy and we all enjoyed our meals
Good food and reasonable too
Will certainly visit again

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    77
    21
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Near hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a lovley pub restaurant the food was delcious and generous portioned. Given its location it is at the far end of the village and so the last place we looked to find a place to suit palate and budget and we were not disappointed. On the Friday night we were there there wasan excellent one man karaoke oerformer for someone's brithday. Atmosphere was great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in a lovely pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Called in for a meal after stumbling across this Pub whilst strolling around Southwold. What an extensive menu choice and lovely atmosphere. Food was excellent and staff attentive. The portions are huge too. Would thoroughly recommend and would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“OMG, died and gone to heaven,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

October 4th 2012. My wife wanted to visit Southwold, OK we were on holiday. We found the Red Lion about lunchtime, bit lucky there. Adnams ale sounded good. Beer was first rate, well it should be being so close to the brewery.
What took us by surprise was the food. It was YUM, or what! Could not fault it.
So what let it down?... Nothing! The staff were friendly, efficient and always there to help.
Would I go back to Southwold? Only if I can go to The Red Lion again.
If you are in the area treat yourself, and have a pint for me..please!
Thanks to all at the Red Lion for a great lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent a Saturday evening at the Red Lion and will definately go back. We reserved a table for 7pm and the place was packed. Very friendly service and we did not have to wait to long for the food to arrive, even though the pub was busy. The landlord is very organised and really knows how to run a pub. There is an extensive menu and the food is very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed red Lion also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.