We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Southwold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellesley House

Wellesley House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wellesley House
Save
You added Wellesley House to your Saves list
3 Strickland Place, Southwold IP18 6HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Southwold B&B and Inns
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Paradise in Southwold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you're planning a trip to Southwold then look no further than Wellesley House. The location is excellent - very peaceful and relaxing, but only a two minute walk to the centre of Southwold with its amazing selection of bars, restaurants and shops. Free parking directly outside the guest house is another huge bonus in a town that can get quite busy. Julie and Bruce are superb hosts who make you feel really welcome - well done guys - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: The 'Blue Room' has en-suite and lovely views to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrevieja, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We come over from Spain every year to see family and friends,and this year decided on a short break in Southwold.My sister had heard on the grapevine of Wellesley House,we duly booked and are very glad that we did so.There is no criticism to be made about this establishment the rooms are clean and comfortable the views outstanding,the breakfasts are first class,and car parking could not be easier given that Southwold is notorious for parking in high season.the house is ideally situated for all amenities,maybe the only thing lacking is a licensed bar but having said that Bruce the landlord did buy us a drink when we stumbled across him in a local pub.Would highly recommend .Roberto and Sussanah.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have always loved Southwold and now we have discovered Wellesley House, it has made our stay idyllic. A lovely bedroom (with enormous bed and armchairs) and bathroom and with one of Julies delicious breakfasts, what more could you want? Julie is a tireless host and made us feel very welcome. Wellesley House is in a great location within easy walking distance of local amenities such as shops, restaurants, pubs, pier and harbour.

Room Tip: Both rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Stayed 2 nights B&B August 2011. Stayed in room 2 which has an ensuite toilet and shower, comfortable seating area, and enormous (and very comfy) bed. Nice view across common to harbour and sea in the distance. Two minute walk to centre of Southwold, parking either right outside or very nearby. Owner could not be more helpful. Book here with confidence.

Room Tip: In high season book in advance to get in local restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock Wood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

What a wonderful B&B! Wellesley House is only a very short walk to the High Street with its good selection of shops and restaurants. The local Adnams Brewery is also an added bonus. The room was excellent with a wonderful view over the common. The beds were comfortable and the separate bathroom very well appointed with fresh towels and toiletries. The breakfast was huge, with so much to eat that we never had to eat again until the evening. Julie was a very hospitable host and made our stay very enjoyable. We can recommend staying at Wellesley House to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We had a fantastic weekend staying in Julie's lovely house. The room was huge and tastefully decorated with a shower en suite and a view across the fields to the sea. The house is moments away from the high street but is surrounded by fields on the other side.

We arrived having left a suitcase on the train- Julie was very helpful scouring the internet and yellow pages for phone numbers and train timetables. We tracked it down and her husband drove me all the way to Norwich to pick it up!!! You don't often find people like this!

Julie's breakfasts are worth going to bed early for! Roast cherry tomatoes on the vine, proper sausages etc.. One of the best full English's I've had in a while.

I'm not going to use this review to go on about how enchanting Southwold is, you have to see for yourself. When you do, make sure you check out the handmade arcade machines on the pier- very unique!

I did a huge amount of research into the best place to stay and I am really glad I found it!

We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wellesley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley House

Address: 3 Strickland Place, Southwold IP18 6HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Wellesley House Southwold, Suffolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellesley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.