We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric local pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Nelson

The Lord Nelson
42 East Street, Southwold IP18 6EJ, England
01502 722079
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: An award winning traditional family run pub with a full range of cask marque awarded Adnams Beers! We have an everyday bar menu and Our specials change daily to reflect the season and accommodate the fresh ingredients we are able to source from our suppliers. Our aim is to offer great, home style food at a great price. We believe in using local suppliers who are able to provide us with the freshest ingredients.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Atmospheric local pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

A most friendly and hospitable local pub. The staff were all very friendly a great place to go to to relax, chat and take in the atmosphere

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    133
    25
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time on other pubs or restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you like charming English pubs, come to the Lord Nelson. If you like fine food, come to the Lord Nelson. If you like good-value pub grub, come to the Lord Nelson.

I spent two nights in Southwold with my fiancee, during which we had one dinner and two lunches at the Lord Nelson. Our only regret was that we didn't have our second dinner there as well! We love fine dining and we found it here at exceptional prices. The fish and chips - at only £10 - is rightly famous, with delicious light batter.

The best part about this pub is its atmosphere. It always seems to be full, and not just with tourists. It clearly has a loyal following of locals. This may mean you have to wait a few minutes for a table, but this just provides another excuse to stand around drinking the excllent local Adnams beer.

It is in the very heart of historic Southwold, and just yards from the beach. Make it your first stop!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A real taste of Southwold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

If you're in south old dont waste your time on other pubs!! You'll have a warm welcome here and their adnams broadside is kept very well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spixworht, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lunch by the fire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Real traditional Pub, good food, excellent Adnams, friendly helpful staff, cosy atmosphere. We shared two starters and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and plan to go back for more. On a visit to Southwold The Lord Nelson is a must.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“super pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

some of the best fish and chips to be eaten always call in when I,m in southwold have never been dissapointed, added bonus the dog can always finnish up any left overs which she loves.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Nelson also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Lord Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.