We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give it 10 stars if we could!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutherland House

Sutherland House
55 High Street, Southwold IP18 6DN, England
01502 724 544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sutherland House is not just Southwolds only seafood restaurant, it is also a neighbourhood restaurant which serves local food for local people.
essex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would give it 10 stars if we could!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A birthday treat was the reason we went here and we weren't disappointed.
The food was delicious and we thought, not unreasonably priced for the quality.
The service was fantastic, friendly and quick enough to be efficient but not too fast that we felt rushed.
The ambience was lovely, the tables not 'squished' together like some places and if there was any music on we didn't hear it which is a bonus in our minds-just nice to be able to sit and talk to each other!
One small thing- we booked a table for 2 but if you want to sit in the window you should specify when you book.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    115
    36
    12
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best in Southwold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked a table on a Wednesday evening and it was very busy. The staff were most welcoming and pleasant. Loved the ambience of such an old historic building. The food was very good, the best we'd had whilst in Southwold. One of our party is vegetarian, and he was well catered for. Lovely evening, thank you, and will be going back next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best in Southwold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Southwold's obvious charm can inflate one's expectations when dining out. Sutherland House is likely the only spot that won't disappoint. In fact a 4 out of 5 doesn't do it justice: it's really a 9 out of 10. The food on our visit was absolutely gorgeous. Michelin star? It would be in the running.

Sutherland House will not appeal to old codgers in search of vast portions of greasy fare. There seems to be a considerable trade in that wherever you go in England, including quaint old Southwold.

The old building ambience of Sutherland House is as nice as you'd expect, the service is very good. It's not even expensive. If you are looking for somewhere you can take friends used to dining in top restaurants in London, Sydney, Auckland, San Fran or the like, go here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“FAB Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Excellent personal service, fantastic food beautifully presented,
The Cheese Tasting Experience.....along with a score sheet was a really fun thing to do.
We were wary, as a previous visitor to the Holiday apartment we had rented hadn't enjoyed it. it's almost impossible to see why. The wine list was extensive... from reasonably priced to very expensive, and our waiter helped us to choose a moderately priced wine that suited our fish dishes.
Couldnt fault it in any way

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heavenly Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Goats cheese pannacotta and scallops were two of the starters we had, both delicious. The red mullet and fillet steak (cooked to perfection) were excellent too. Just a shame we had no room for dessert! Nice atmosphere and good service too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutherland House also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutherland House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.