We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Lighthouse - CLOSED

Blue Lighthouse
8 East Street, Southwold IP18 6EH, England
01502 723560
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Ware, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just wanted to say we had a really great time here for my birthday dinner. We were a table of 10 with two children. The staff were lovely and helpful and the food was wonderful. My Dad even congratulated the chef. It has a very relaxed atmosphere and the staff were not intrusive just very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this and it is very child friendly (high chairs are provided). Thank you for a great night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    59
    12
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easy Sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from a spontaneous trip to Southwold, where we had luch in this surprising restaurant. I have rarely eaten a meal where everything was excellent, but The Blue Lighthouse really delivered.
Food brilliant, and reasonably priced, bar well stocked, and friendly staff.

Do yourself a favour, and have a meal here, I'm sure you will be more than happy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton-in-the-isle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Inviting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Been here for lunch on a number of occasions when visiting Southwold and intend to visit again.Friendly waiting staff, relaxing environment, reasonably priced good food. Good value all round.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex england
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food,will return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Slightly different to the other restaurants in Southwold. A much more relaxed eating experience. Don't be put off by the chalk boards outside. Inside is very pleasant with a great painting above the bar depicting Southwold. I had Whitebait and slow cooked Belly of Pork,my partner had calamari and Duck followed by Key Lime Pie. All very good. Will definitely return..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A decent place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We came here on the evening of New Year's Eve and despite having a booking we had to wait a short while for the table to be ready.

The place was nicely decorated for Christmas and New Year, they had put a lot of effort into this.

The Blue Lighthouse calls itself a brasserie. Not exactly sure what this means, but in effect the only difference from a normal restaurant is that you have to order your food at the bar.

I had a baked brie in batter as a starter, which was very nice, and chicken breast for a main course which was unexceptional.

It's not especially good value for money, but apart from the food ordering the service was fine. A good place to go for an informal dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Lighthouse also viewed

Southwold, Suffolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.