We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the macaroons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 1885

Cafe 1885
Snape Maltings | Nr Aldeburgh, Snape IP17 1SR, England
01728 687 980
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Snape
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Try the macaroons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Good cafe with excellent cafe and absolutely fabulous chocolate and salted caramel macaroons. They look small but it would be almost impossible to eat two! Very efficient and pleasant staff and a reasonably priced lunch menu.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good service pleasant surroundings god food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had been here once before in the previous summer, but at that time, we were totally ignored so that we walked out without ordering.
We were back in the area again, so we thought we would try it again.
This time absolutely no complaints about the service which was friendly and effective.
We had a salad and a chowder and both tasted very good - only complaint was that there were 9 significantly sized pieces of potato in the chowder which made it difficult to get at the soup and the fish. This was more a potato soup than a fish chowder. But when we mentioned this, they apologized and gave us our coffees free of charge. Of course I would have preferred less potatoes in the soup to begin with, but at least they recognized the error and made amends. You can't expect more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It's said to be a "man thing"; I can rarely opt out of an "all day breakfast". It wasn't an "all you can eat" meal, but the quality of the food compensated for this. Only one sausage; but it was about 9 to 10 inches long! (from Dingley Dell farms), and tasted fantastic.

The toast had, apparently, been baked in an oven (bread from Pump Street bakery in Orford). Some reviewers have commented on the unhelpful, unfriendly staff, but we found them just the opposite (even though it was fairly busy).

We would definitely visit this establishment again, and found the prices to be reasonable, for the quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic place, food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Must admit thought this would be pretentious and overpriced but could not have been more wrong! Delicious locally sourced food at very agreeable prices - by far the best value of the eateries we found at the maltings. We had the Welsh rarebit and the spinach and feta parcels and they were delicious! Fabulous!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Big Sausage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Had Breakfast here today, very busy and staff were a little stretched but very small intense place to work and they did very well. The quality of food was very good, and full breakfast came with biggest sausage ive every seen, amazing. Service was good and good value to

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1885 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 1885, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.