We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riverside House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
17 Mill St | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Mildenhall
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During our recent vacation to England we decided that a traditional Afternoon Tea would be a British experience worthy of our precious time. Visiting the Riverside Hotel in Mildenhall Village, Suffolk was right on. We were looked after by the professional team. The course was a three-tier stand, which included wonderfully light scones and clotted cream, a variety of sandwiches, and a tier of dessert delicacies. All courses were just the ideal blend to make for a perfect Afternoon Tea.
Afternoon Tea at the Royal Garden Hotel was a delight. The quality of service (Special thanks to our waitress Suzanne), the presentation and, most importantly, the ingredients used were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    28
    7
    9
    1
See reviews for
54
49
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the staff were so caring here, pleasant, helpful and good customer service and care.
The hotel was very clean, comfy and lovely atmosphere. the restaurant was very comfortable and food very good The gardens are a delight to see and sit in. I would definatley recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one Saturday night in June and a really good hotel recently refurbished. The greeting was fine and the room was excellent with a newly refurbished ensuite. Drink prices in the bar were reasonable and certainly not the normal rip off you find in other similar hotels. The small lounge at the front of the hotel is very nice. Breakfast was very good and cooked fresh, well cooked and hearty. The location is superb and the grounds are well kept. Couple of pedantic points that just ever so slightly let the Riverside Hotel down. In the room there is a hair dryer but no mirror in the vicinity of the hair dryer, although large mirror on the wall. The toast was burnt at breakfast and although the restaurant was empty the service was slow with dirty plates left on the table. Had it not been for these minor points the stay would have been perfect. I would certainly recommend staying at the Riverside and we will stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We keep trying as are local but during the fish had another poor meal. Have to give up now as given it enough chance
Best to go out of town to Newmarket or The Old Plough at Ashley for a decent meal. Nothing in mildenhall is any good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently visited this lovely hotel to have lunch as my mother inlaw was staying with us for a few days. We were very impressed with the dining room which is beautifully decorated and our table was positioned overlooking the garden, which is really pretty. The staff here are very friendly, without being intrusive, the menu was very good and also very reasonably priced and absolutely delicious. We're going to try afternoon tea and Sunday lunch soon. Also my brother inlaw will be staying for a night this coming weekend so he'll be able to review his room and breakfast which I'm sure will be excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Called in on the spur of the moment for afternoon tea. This hotel was highly recommended to me. We were a party of eight , and were seated promptly. Our waitress, I believe her name was Suzanne ,was exceptionally friendly and explained the afternoon tea menu to us in great detail. The afternoon tea was one of the best that I have ever experienced. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and our waitress Suzanne to others. Good service deserves recognition.
A highly satisfied first time customer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We were guests at a wedding held at the hotel and also stayed overnight. The wedding was conducted in a very professional manor by both manager and supporting staff. The grounds are lovely for photos and the meal was very good. Mass catering is always problematical but with a choice for both starters and dessert it was provided with the minimum of fuss. The food was delicious, well-cooked and hot and served by an abundance of staff who were lovely. Our room was at the back on the second floor. Lovely views and very well appointed. I can't complain about the noise as it was our disco but it is something to consider if there is a function on. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and tasty but most of us couldn't do it justice after the previous night's activities! I would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Address: 17 Mill St | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.