We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside House Hotel to your Saves list
Riverside House Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Mill St | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night because a friend had his 50th birthday celebration. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the bathroom was immaculate. The bed is really comfy. Breakfast was to order and was very tasty. The manager, Ged, was also present at the party and what a marvellous host. Fantastic venue for any kind of party. Would return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    33
    7
    10
    2
See reviews for
58
52
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just had our wedding reception at the riverside hotel on 4th August 2012. From the moment we booked it, Ged and Maggie helped us what we wanted to make our day special. The Food was so good and the hotel looked amazing, everything was perfect. We would like to thank Ged, Maggie, Suzanne and all the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We got married at the Riverside House Hotel in late June. From start to finish, the hotel staff were superbly helpful. Master of Ceremonies - Ged, ran a flawless wedding; from the timing of the music for the ceremony, making sure guests were well taken care of, organising the running of the day and ensuring the wedding breakfast went well, he and the staff ran a perfect wedding! Oh, and the food was AMAZING! It was so nice to feel so taken care of - nothing was too much trouble, and everything was tailored to our requirements. We'd like to say a huge thank you to all the staff at the Riverside House for giving us such a wonderful day.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taverham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

What an excellent venue, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, Food was excellent. Rooms spacious, comfortable and spotless with air conditioning. Lovely gardens to sit in.
All in all a wonderful weekend. No hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Mildenhall

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Suffolk, UK.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I would like to thank every member of staff for making our Daughter's wedding day a truly awesome occasion. Ged, Maggie and Suzanne ensured that everything ran smoothly from the moment we checked in. The food was amazing and in plentiful supply. Nothing was too much trouble. All rooms were spotlessly clean and ready for an early check in. The Hotel and grounds are of the highest standard. In my opinion, The Riverside House Hotel is one of the top wedding venues in the area. I would have no hesitattion in highly recommending this venue to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Thank you to every single member of staff, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel & gardens were stunning, the gardener was there in the morning making sure they looked perfect. Food service was quick to all tables & the food itself was devine & plenty of it. A special big thanks to Ged who made the whole day run smoothly & was a very calming influence just before the ceremony. If anyone is looking for a wedding venue or even just a few nights away I would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The accommodation is fine but the service in the bar was very poor and the bird poo covered patio furniture, walls, floor and umbrellas was awful. The one member of staff was more interested in talking to her friend in the other bar and not serving us. We were having pre dinner drinks and if we had been asked would have had at least one more if not two. On the time we did get a drink I had to go and ask her to come and serve us. The food was disappointing, firstly the sirloin steak was the strangest shaped sirloin we have ever seen, it was also very thin and a medium rare came out well done and had to go back, the second attempt produced a medium. Would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Address: 17 Mill St | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.