We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey at night, but great lunch deals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Riverside House Restaurant

The Riverside House Restaurant
Mill Street, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
01638 717274
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Mildenhall
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pricey at night, but great lunch deals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This restaurant and hotel seems to be pretty quiet during the day, but they offer a great lunch deal. I believe it was around £25 for two three course lunches. The soup was ok, the entree was pretty good, but the dessert was excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

My family, which includes 2 small children, had dinner here one summer evening. We sat outside & loved the garden atmosphere. We essentially had two waitresses; both were great. They were also attentive to our talkative 3 year old, which was appreciated. We didn't order anything special, & it tasted as expected. Price was as expected. We liked it and will probably eat there again when we have a chance.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely decor, food is good, service is ok”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I only have one dislike and that's sometimes the service for food takes too long especially when there are only a couple of tables to serve. There Xmas party nights are great fun I would definitely recommend them

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

To be fair we have experienced some very nice Sunday lunches at this restaurant but on this occasion the standard was very poor & when we complained it was dismissed in a pompous & conceited manner by the hotel manager who obviously did not appreciate our feedback or agree any recompense. The prawn cocktail starters were served in a wine glasses & were conspicuous by the absence of more than two prawns & the Parma ham salad was essentially just various types of lettuce. The beef main course was also extremely fatty & unappetising, compounded by the fact that three slices were served rather than the normal two. Our complaint was made in a calm & civil way but the attitude & response of the general manager was far from customer orientated & consequently we will not be visiting again.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ged005, General Manager at The Riverside House Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding the lunch you had with us on Sunday 18th December 2011.
I would like to comment on some of the points you have made. At no point during your lunch did you make any suggestions that you were unhappy with the meal, despite being asked if everything was all right with your meal. It was only the day after when I received your e mail that I realised that you were unhappy. I replied back to you with quite a detailed explanation as to why we did the things we did. Your reply to this was one of appreciation but still disappointment. The next communication with us was again by E mail on Friday 20th January stating “before I go to Tripadvisor I want a refund”. I duly responded to you in a courteous way. Finally as I have never met you, I find your comment that your “complaint was dismissed in a pompous and conceited manner” rather difficult to understand.
I again would like to apologise for the for your disappointing lunch, however I do feel that your comments were handled in a respectful and considerate way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside House Restaurant also viewed

Barton Mills, Mildenhall
Worlington, Mildenhall
 

Been to The Riverside House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Riverside House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.