We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose and Crown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rose and Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Rose and Crown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rose and Crown Hotel
Withersfield Road, Haverhill CB9 9LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Haverhill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worthwhile visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010 via mobile

Wonderful carvery, very pleasant experience, both the waiting staff and chef were very helpful. Have recommened to friends. Will go back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    2
    2
    8
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

we decided to eat here as its fairly local ,

the waiter was pleasant and keen to please , the carvery is served up on fairly small plates so you cant take much , the veg was tasteless , more so than the microwaved tinned stuff we sometimes at home , yorkshires were cold at this was 15 mins after opening

i really couldnt reccomend anyone to eat there , poor show from all but the waiter

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Went there with my husband and 2 children on a sunday afternoon as we were in the area. All I can say is I wished I had gone on my first impression. The building is in need of a full refurb. (Very out-dated and dark) I The toilets leaked. I wanted to walk out there and then, but the children were hungry and my husband said lets just give it a try. What a mistake that was!!! The Carvery was just awful, The veg was all soggy like it had been under the heat lamp for hours, there was hardly any meat left to choose from and when I asked if there was a bar menu..I was told we don't have bar food on a Sunday. So I didn't eat. The children were uncatered for so had to have the Carvery...which they hated as the food was like processed baby food. WORD OF ADVICE!...AVOID AT ALL COSTS..SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED BY HEALTH & SAFTEY.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

My partner & myself stopped for the Carvery on Sunday 3/5/09. We were one of the first people there our waitress was lovely. We went up to the Carvey and it looked wonderful although the chef (so called) came across as quite intimadating and constantly going on at the staff.
All the food was overcooked, you could not tell one meat from another. I did tell the waitress whom was not very happy about telling the Chef, but she did and he did not say a word. S
Would defintely not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

After a long drive my wife and I decided to stop in Haverhill for a walk as we always enjoy the Market. We where stopped in the street by a very chirpy young man who presented us with a "Free glass of wine" and £3.95 carvery!! we couldn't believe our eyes and both expected the carvery to be cheap, The young man insisted "everything was cooked fresh and nothing but the ice was frozen" We decided to go to the Rose and Crown and it was far from what we expected. The Food was wonderful, the service was 5 star and the whole experience was marvelous. we had a the same chap who gave us the flyer be our waiter, to say he was attentive is an understatement, even though it was very busy, he attended to our every whim in a quick and tidy manner. The food was reminiscent of my childhood around my grandparents!! fantastic roast potatoes and beautiful cuts of meat.
over all the experience was fantastic. The bill was only £25.00 for 2 people and 3 courses, i would have happily paid double!!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Will keep this brief i had the displeasure of going to this hotel for dinner with my partner and her parents. The food they served up in thier so called cavery was nothing short of awful i would not serve it to a pig. I was ill for 3 days after eating there. Th e so called chef was very rude towards my partner and was very arrogant. They promised my partner a phone call to apologise for thier chefs rudeness but we have still not heard a thing from them. Shocking!!!!!! I would not recommend this place to anyone not even my worst enemy.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

Stayed there with my wife and kids when i went to my friends birthday party.

The staff were rude totally impolite. hotel was shabby.

During my stay my jacket went missing from my room management did not seem to care.

Avoid this hotel at all costs!

  • Liked — The Exit
  • Disliked — The entrance
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose and Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown Hotel

Address: Withersfield Road, Haverhill CB9 9LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Haverhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Haverhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Haverhill, Suffolk, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose and Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.