We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room good shame it wasn't the one we booked” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fludyers Arms

The Fludyers Arms
Undercliff Rd East, Felixstowe IP11 7LU, England
01394 691929
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 74 Restaurants in Felixstowe
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Room good shame it wasn't the one we booked”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I booked (by phone) a room with a Juliette balcony for the night of our wedding on 16th August at the Fludyers, unfortunately when we were showed to our room on the night it had no balcony and was a side room. We were so tired and it was late so we didn't complain. The hotel is very clean and the staff very helpful. Breakfast was lovely and service was good. I can only think that the person I spoke to didn't reserve the room I thought we were getting. We phoned the day before to let the hotel staff know that we would be checking in late so our room should have been reserved.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    19
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We went here on the recommendation of friends....... and it was amazing. Quite loud in the bar area, but once you go through yo restaurant area it's fine. Lovely sea view from restaurant & bar.
The food is gorgeous, highly recommend the braised beef on parmasan mash..... very rich looking, but beef melts in your mouth. Taste divine.
Staff friendly, well dressed & very knowledgeable about menu & wines. Would definitely go back again. A little pricey, but worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Quality seafront gastro-pub with rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Following a recent total refurbishment, this seafront gastro-pub with rooms is now running at full tilt. The restaurant is split between an open plan area adjacent to the bar and a largely separated adjoining room. Avoid the open plan area which can be very noisy when the bar is full. The service can be a little slow when the restaurant is busy, but beyond this relatively minor gripe this is a slick operation with very well trained and efficient young staff under the oversight of a highly visible front of house manager. The food also does not disappoint – outstanding crab bisque, moist and tender breast of chicken and an interesting and creative warm vegetarian salad – all beautifully presented and with piping hot plates. Book early, this restaurant will only increase in popularity.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than it was....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I dared to venture back to the restaurant having suffered at their hands some months back. Things are better with good food and portions with sensible prices. However, this place is known in Felixstowe for not getting the bill right. We were charge incorrectly -(no deal despite being there at the deal time); many people have said that they can't add up.

Also, can you really hold your head up in the restaurant world of you don't provide stirrers for your gin?? Nice gins on offer as well...what a shame. I mentioned this before to them and was offered a straw. Gin drinkers - look away now!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southminster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Fludyer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Nice lunch here on a boiling hot day, a good refurb has been done here, some "specials" daily and a snck and sandwich menu is available. We had a jug of Pimms, I had fish and chips which was nice, fish frseh tand hin batter pureed peas, my wife had a chicken dish just over £40 although the jug of Pimms was £15.

Food was good, service was a little slapdash, lots of staff but no visible "person in charge" barman ws struggling with the brisk lunchtime trade and order taking... someone needs to get a grip herer as the surroundings and food are nice but I forsee disaster on a really busy day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fludyers Arms also viewed

Felixstowe, Suffolk
Felixstowe, Suffolk
 
Felixstowe, Suffolk
Felixstowe, Suffolk
 

Been to The Fludyers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fludyers Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.